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Introduction 
End-of-life fiberglass boats1 are a major problem for boat owners, boatyards, and solid waste 

managers. Countless boats litter Rhode Island—often permanently occupying back yards or 

abandoned in boat yards. In the absence of an end-of-life option other than disposal, these boats are 

either left in place or sent to a landfill, where they take up a substantial amount of valuable, limited 

space. A sustainable solution for end-of-life stewardship of fiberglass boats is badly needed to 

protect our marine environment, reduce strain on state solid waste disposal facilities, and provide 

an alternative option for boat owners.  

Cement manufacturing represents a promising use for end-of-life fiberglass boats.2 While this use 

would address the problem of what to do with the fiberglass material, the economics of boat 

recycling through this pathway are challenging. Boats must be dismantled and all hazardous 

materials removed before the fiberglass can be processed and used in the cement-making process. 

While this labor would provide a welcome income stream for boat manufacturers and/or yards 

during the winter season, the associated labor costs would be substantial, and far greater than the 

income that can realistically be obtained from sale of the bulk fiberglass material. While local cost 

estimates are not available at this time, France has established a requirement for dismantling, the 

costs of which are borne by the last boat owner.3 Dismantling prices through the program averaged 

€1207 for boats that were on average 30 years old.4 Alternate sources of funding for boat recycling 

are needed if Rhode Island or other jurisdictions seek to implement recycling programs. 

User fees are a potential avenue for funding boat recycling initiatives. Rhode Island, like other 

states, has established stewardship programs for a growing number of consumer products, such as 

paint5 and mattresses.6 Consumers must pay a uniform fee when they purchase these products, in 

an amount sufficient to cover the costs of a sustainable recycling or disposal program. Similar fee 

systems, on a one-time or annual basis, could also be used productively in the boating sector, in 

which user fees are already deployed to support related activities.  

                                                             
1 While fiberglass vessels are used for a variety of purposes, including fishing, this study focuses on 

recreational vessels—primarily smaller motorboats and sailboats—and therefore uses the term “boats” 

rather than “vessels,” following the Federal Boat Safety Act of 1971 and state boating acts. Use of “boat” in this 

study is synonymous with “vessel” or “watercraft” except where otherwise noted. This study does not 

address alternative registration arrangements for fishing vessels or other specific uses. 
2 See Melissa Wood, The Unresolved Afterlife of Composite-Built Boats, PROF. BOATBUILDER Oct./Nov. 2016, at 44; 

Melissa Wood, Boat Disposal Plan Progresses, PROF. BOATBUILDER (May 19, 2016), available at 

http://www.proboat.com/2017/05/boat-disposal-plan-progresses/. 
3 Mirna Cieniewicz & Pierre Barbleu, Boat’s End-of-Life in Ports, Presentation to BoatsDIGEST Final 
Conference (Sept. 23, 2015), available at 
http://www.europeanboatingindustry.eu/images/Members_Meetings/150923%20BD%20final%20Presenta
tion1%20MCieniewicz-PBarbleu.pdf. 
4 Id. 
5 R.I. Gen. L. § 23-24.12-3. 
6 R.I. Gen. L. § 23-90-1 et seq. 

http://www.europeanboatingindustry.eu/images/Members_Meetings/150923%20BD%20final%20Presentation1%20MCieniewicz-PBarbleu.pdf
http://www.europeanboatingindustry.eu/images/Members_Meetings/150923%20BD%20final%20Presentation1%20MCieniewicz-PBarbleu.pdf
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This study reviews user fees that apply to recreational boating. States currently employ a range of 

taxes and fees on fiberglass and other vessels, both at the time of sale and on an annual basis. While 

many such taxes and fees are channeled directly to state general revenues, every U.S. state and 

territory charges boat registration fees, the proceeds of which are placed in a special fund used to 

support boating-related activities, such as construction of boat launches and removal of hazards 

and obstructions. Such fees may represent a productive model for end-of-life stewardship, which 

could ensure that boaters internalize end-of-life costs.  

This study provides a foundation for consideration of end-of-life stewardship programs for 

fiberglass boats by reviewing U.S. state and territory fees and boat-specific taxes.7 It identifies fees 

used in each jurisdiction, what these fees are allocated for, how they are allocated, and how they 

ensure that boaters support the ecosystems they use so frequently. Additionally, this study 

discusses states that address the issue of derelict vessels and how they have also allotted state 

funds to manage the growing issue of derelict vessels in our waterways.  

Registration Fees  
Congress enacted the Federal Boat Safety Act of 1971 with the intention of improving the safety 

conditions of commercial and recreational boating in the U.S.8 The Act establishes national 

regulations that boaters must abide by, such as wearing lifejackets and complying with other vessel 

safety requirements, and preempts state recreational vessel performance or safety standards.9 

States are authorized to register vessels and require a fee from owners so long as they require 

information set out in federal regulations,10 such as the vessel owner’s name, vessel length, vessel 

type, propulsion method, purpose of operation, and an identification number.11  

As reviewed in detail below, every U.S. state and territory requires boaters to pay a fee to own and 

operate a vessel in state waters. Registration fees—sometimes called certification or numbering 

fees—are assessed on an annual, biennial, or triennial basis. Vessel owners are required to register 

any vessel that spends more than a minimum amount of time in state waters. For example, Florida 

requires registration of any vessel remaining in state waters for more than 90 days.12  

Nearly all states set registration fees based on vessel length—the longer the vessel, the higher the 

fee. Additionally, some states have higher fees for motorized vessels than for non–motorized 

                                                             
7 Vessels are subject to sales and use taxes in most, but not all, states. These taxes are not addressed here, but 

are an important consideration when crafting laws or regulations as they may be important factors in the 

location where vessels are purchased and principally used. In addition, vessels are subject to personal 

property taxes or excise taxes in many jurisdictions; this study does not address these taxes except where 

revenue from taxes on boats is set aside for a particular purpose or the taxation system is unique or 

otherwise relevant. 
8 Pub. L. 92-75, 85 Stat. 213 (1971). 
9 46 U.S.C. § 4306. 
10 33 C.F.R. Part 174. 
11 46 U.S.C. ch. 123; see also U.S. Coast Guard Boating Safety Division, Federal Laws, at 

http://www.uscgboating.org/regulations/federal-laws.php. 
12 Fla. Stat. ch. 328.56. 

http://www.uscgboating.org/regulations/federal-laws.php


4 

vessels. In a few cases, fees differ for different types of vessels (e.g., cruisers, inboards, outboards) 

or—in Connecticut—hull material.13 The average registration fee ranges from under $20 to several 

hundred dollars.  

Boat registration fees are not taxes; rather, they are user fees that are directed to specific purposes 

related to boating. States direct the fees—and in many cases, fines for violations of boating 

regulations and other directed sources of funding—to special funds that are kept distinct from the 

state’s general treasury and which can be used only for a set of approved activities. These activities 

vary from state to state, but generally benefit boating safety, access (boat ramps, etc.), navigational 

services (dredging, etc.), and/or environmental protection (aquatic invasive species control, etc.). 

In addition to registration fees, many states use one or more of three additional funding streams. 

These include special user fees or surcharges, taxes, and checkoffs. 

Special fees and surcharges are commonly used to fund special purposes or programs focused on 

particular activities related to boating. For example, Indiana boat registration fees include a 

Department of Natural Resources Fee and Lake and River Enhancement Fee, which are used to 

enforce boating laws and improve navigable waters and to provide grants to protect and enhance 

aquatic habitat, respectively.14  

Sticker programs provide a twist on the surcharge concept, as they may apply to only a subset of 

vessels, and those vessels may be a different group than those vessels requiring registration. Sticker 

programs have been developed primarily to fund aquatic invasive species management activities. 

For example, Maine requires vessel owners using inland waters—including owners of non-

motorized vessels—to purchase a $20 invasive species sticker to be placed on each vessel; funds 

are directed to programs for that focus on lake protection and preventing the spread of invasive 

species.15  

Some states and territories require payment of sale and use, excise, and/or property taxes that are 

directed in whole or in part to fund boating-related activities. Such taxes are often based upon a 

percentage of the value of the vessel, and therefore may be far costlier than registration fees. Many 

states assess sales and use taxes upon purchase or initial registration of a vessel, and in most cases 

the proceeds are directed to the general treasury of the state or local government—such taxes are 

not collected in this study. In Maryland, however, proceeds from a 5% vessel excise tax that applies 

to all vessels used principally in Maryland are deposited into the Waterway Improvement Fund.16 

More commonly, smaller, annual taxes are used specifically for boating. For example, Massachusetts 

requires payment of a 1% annual excise tax on all vessels, half of which is credited to the municipal 

waterways improvement and maintenance fund.17 Finally, taxes on boating-related products, such 

as fuel, may be used for boating programs. For example, the Ohio Waterways Safety Fund provides 

                                                             
13 Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-144. 
14 Ind. Code § 9-31-3-9. 
15 Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 12, § 13058. 
16 Md. Rev. Stat. Nat. Res. § 8-716. 
17 Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 90B, § 39. 
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grants for boater education programs, funded by a share of the state motor fuel tax, watercraft 

registration and titling fees, and funding from the U.S. Coast Guard.18 

Last, a few states have adopted checkoff programs in which boaters may voluntarily donate to state 

boating programs. Wisconsin, for example, provides vessel owners the option to donate money for 

programs to prevent the spread of invasive species,19 while Florida sells a sea turtle sticker with 

proceeds going to a conservation fund.20  

These types of programs have a variety of benefits and drawbacks that should be considered when 

selecting a fee structure to fund vessel recycling.  

 Specific accounts supported by registration fees have an organized and cohesive 

statutory structure that expressly states what funds will be used for and allows the funds to 

be designated towards specific projects. This structured funding provides predictability as 

to how much money will accrue to the fund annually, and the accounts are not dependent 

on legislative appropriations. However, there is a tension in this type of structured fund 

between flexibility in the use of the account and ensuring that funds are used for specific 

purposes. The ability to have more flexible use of funds can be helpful, especially for new 

programs where priorities have not been established. A flexible structure allows a state to 

make those decisions as they go and new priorities arise. However, where specific activities 

are desired, flexibility may result in diversion of funds to different activities over time, 

resulting in underfunding of the initial program priorities. In programs that designate 

particular surcharge amounts to specific activities, the resulting amounts are often quite 

small and may be insufficient to effectively contribute to vessel recycling. 

 Sticker programs ensure that funding goes to specific programs, and can be targeted to 

particular types of boaters. However, these programs have only been used for invasive 

species to date. An advantage of these programs is that it is easy for law enforcement 

officials to identify whether a boater has complied with requirements, resulting in high 

compliance by boat owners. Sticker programs are most beneficial in states or territories 

with a large population of vessels, because the fees are generally low—$10 or $20 per year.  

In addition, states can and do require boaters to purchase stickers even for transient boats 

with out-of-state registration, which may not be possible with other surcharges paid with 

registration.  

 Taxes can be an effective way to ensure that boaters contribute to funding for boating-

related activities in substantial amounts. Taxes paid at time of purchase can be used to set 

aside funding for stewardship from the beginning of each vessel’s life, rather than leaving 

funding to the end-of-life. Time-of-purchase tax systems may allow a boater to import a 

                                                             
18 Ohio Rev. Code §§ 1547.55, 5735.051; see also Ohio Div. State Parks & Watercraft, ODNR Awards Funds to 

Local Boating Safety and Education Programs, at http://watercraft.ohiodnr.gov/news/post/odnr-awards-

funds-to-local-boating-safety-and-education-programs. 
19 Wis. Stat. §30.52.  
20 Fla. Stat. ch. 328.72(16). 

http://watercraft.ohiodnr.gov/news/post/odnr-awards-funds-to-local-boating-safety-and-education-programs
http://watercraft.ohiodnr.gov/news/post/odnr-awards-funds-to-local-boating-safety-and-education-programs
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vessel registered elsewhere without paying the tax, while potentially disposing of the vessel 

in the state. Annual excise or property tax systems in smaller amounts may reduce this risk, 

but raise the possibility that older vessels may be imported and junked before the costs of 

recycling have been recovered. Care would be needed to deploy a system that ensures that 

the state recovers the costs of recycling each vessel. 

 Checkoff systems allow boaters to voluntarily contribute to a special fund in amounts they 

select. The evident issue with this type of voluntary donation program is that boaters are 

not obligated to contribute to the fund if they do not wish to, so compliance is likely to be 

limited—especially when compared to the costs of vessel recycling. Thus, while checkoffs 

may be useful for certain activities, they do not appear to allow internalization of the cost of 

disposal amongst the boating population.  

None of the fee structures used in other U.S. states and territories offers a direct model for 

implementation in the case of fiberglass boat recycling. However, a combination of elements of 

existing programs suggests that an effective fee structure may be possible. Such a system may 

include a directed fee in an amount sufficient to recycle each vessel, to be paid at initial sale or first 

registration in the state, and to include visual evidence of payment. 

State marine debris legislation that funds removal of abandoned or derelict vessels (ADVs) may 

provide a partial model for vessel recycling programs. States that have enacted such legislation 

include: 

 California; 

 Florida; 

 Maryland; 

 Massachusetts; 

 Michigan; 

 Mississippi; 

 Oregon; 

 Rhode Island; 

 Texas; 

 Virginia; and 

 Washington.  

The statutory provisions created by these states allocate funds directly to programs that manage 

and dispose of ADVs in U.S waterways. The funds often cover the cost of removal of vessels from 

waterways and of their disposal, but they do not address the eventual disposal of recovered vessels. 

In addition to funding, these state statutes generally address how ADVs can be addressed, including 

by authorizing state and local agents to remove and dispose of the vessels without fear of liability 

and by simplifying vessel ownership.  
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Future Research Directions 
This study provides an overview of the U.S. fees and taxes that could be used as a model for a 

fiberglass boat recycling program. With this foundation, states such as Rhode Island can craft 

stewardship programs that are consistent with and draw from models used throughout the 

country. However, additional research could improve and assist in the development of such 

legislation. Key areas for future research include economic estimates and international programs. 

Information on the economic costs of boat dismantling are critical to program design but are not 

yet available. There are multiple options for cost assessment to boat owners, including at the time 

of sale or initial entry into a state; as a component of annual or periodic registration; and a mixture 

of initial and annual costs. Selection of a fee structure may depend in part on the scale of costs—for 

example, a state may wish to avoid assessing an annualized stewardship fee that is far higher than 

other existing boating fees.  

Research on international programs supporting recreational boat recycling or decommissioning 

could also prove useful. Several European countries, including France, have implemented boat 

recycling programs, which may be supported by well-developed regulatory programs. These 

programs, and lessons from their ongoing implementation, may offer important lessons for U.S. 

state considering the creation of similar initiatives.  
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State and Territory Boating Fees and Funding 
This section provides an overview of boat registration fees and selected, relevant taxes in coastal 

U.S. states and territories. In addition, it identifies how registration fees and taxes are allocated to 

particular funds or uses related to boating. Information on funds specific to ADV removal is 

included, including in states where such funds are not connected to registration costs. 

Alabama 
Alabama designates Boater Registration fees based on the class of the vessel (Table 1).21  The class 

of the vessel is determined by the vessel length. All fees, except for a $2 issuance fee, are deposited 

in the State Water Safety Fund.22 

Table 1. Alabama Boat Registration Fees. 

Class Fee 

Class I (< 16’) $18 plus $2 issuance fee 

Class II (16’-26’) $23 plus $2 issuance fee 

Class III (26’-40’) $73 plus $2 issuance fee 

Class IV (>40’) $98 plus $2 issuance fee 

Alaska 
Alaska has established flat registration fees of $24.00 for powered boats and $10.00 for non-

powered boats.23 Registration lasts for three years, and fees are deposited in the general fund.24 

California 
Application for registration of a vessel in California requires an application fee of $9, plus a fee of 

either $10 or $20 (depending on whether it is an odd- or even-numbered year), plus a quagga and 

zebra mussel infestation prevention fee.25 The quagga and zebra mussel fee is either $20 or $10, 

depending on year, such that the total additional fee is $30 regardless of year; however, it does not 

apply to vessels used exclusively in marine waters.26 All quagga and zebra mussel revenues are 

deposited in the Harbors and Watercraft Revolving Fund and can be expended only for certain 

purposes.27 Renewal fees are $20.28  

                                                             
21 Ala. Code § 33-5-17. 
22 Ala. Code § 33-5-10. 
23 Alaska Stat. § 05.25.096. 
24 Alaska Stat. § 05.25.096. 
25 Cal. Veh. Code § 9853. 
26 Cal. Harb. & Nav. Code § 675. 
27 Id. 
28 Cal. Veh. Code § 9860. 
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Most vessels are subject to property tax assessment in California, which is assessed statewide at a 

1% rate, but revenues from which are allocated to the relevant local government.29  

California has created an Abandoned Watercraft Abatement Fund (AWAF), which is funded by fines 

levied for abandoning watercraft and is used to fund vessel removal.30 The state has also funded a 

Vessel Turn-In Program based on a recommendation from the Department of Boating and 

Waterways.31 The Department has combined these two programs into a single grant program—the 

“Surrendered and Abandoned Vessel Exchange (SAVE)” program.32 Grants from the program are 

awarded annually to local public agencies for the abatement, removal, storage and disposal of 

abandoned and surrendered recreational vessels, and for the removal and disposal of other water 

hazards and marine debris on California’s waterways. These programs provide a no-cost removal 

service of derelict or abandoned vessels.33 

Connecticut 
Connecticut’s fee structure is based on the length of the vessel and the type of hull material. It 

varies by the foot and has different amounts for wood and for other material types.34 Fees range 

from $7.50 to $525 for non-wood hull boats, and all fees are deposited in the state general fund.35 

Delaware 
Delaware has established registration fees for different classes of vessels (  

                                                             
29 Cal. Rev. & Tax. Code §§ 1139-40. See also Cal. Legis. Analyst’s Office, Understanding California’s Property 

Taxes (2012), available at www.lao.ca.gov/reports/2012/tax/property-tax-primer-112912.aspx.  
30 Cal. Harb. & Nav. Code § 525. 
31 Id. § 525.5; California Div. Boating & Waterways, About the Grants, at 

http://dbw.parks.ca.gov/?page_id=28816#AboutTheGrants. 
32 California Div. Boating & Waterways, Surrendered and Abandoned Vessel Exchange (SAVE), at 

http://dbw.parks.ca.gov/?page_id=28816. 
33 NOAA Marine Debris Program, Abandoned and Derelict Vessels in California, at  

https://marinedebris.noaa.gov/abandoned-and-derelict-vessels/california. 
34 Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-144; Conn. Dep’t Motor Veh., Boat and Personal Watercraft Registration Fee Schedule 

as Set by Hull Material, at http://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=817&q=245290.  
35 Id. 

http://www.lao.ca.gov/reports/2012/tax/property-tax-primer-112912.aspx
http://dbw.parks.ca.gov/?page_id=28816
https://marinedebris.noaa.gov/abandoned-and-derelict-vessels/california
http://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=817&q=245290
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Table 2).36 As of 2017, 50% of the funds derived from registration fees must be deposited in a 

Waterway Management Fund to be used for activities related to waterways management.37 A boat 

ramp certificate of $35 is also required to use state boat ramps and receipts are used “in accordance 

with the requirements of the Federal Aid in Sport Fish Restoration Act.”38 

  

                                                             
36 Del. Code tit. 23 § 2113. 
37 Id. 
38 Id. 
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Table 2. Delaware Boat Registration Fees. 

Class Annual Fee 

Class A (< 16’) $20 

Class I (16’-26’) $40 

Class II (26’-40’) $60 

Class III (40’-65’) $100 

Class IV (> 65’) $120 

Florida  
Florida has established registration fees for different classes of vessels which vary by the length of 

the vessel (Table 3).39 Reduced fees are available for vessels with locator beacons, and counties may 

elect to require registration fees in addition to those indicated here.40 Service fees are also 

additional.41 Of each registration, $1 is deposited into the Save the Manatee Trust Fund and $1 into 

the Marine Resources Conservation Trust Fund, and the remainder is remitted to counties for use in 

boating-related activities.42 Florida also sells a $5 marine turtle sticker, proceeds from which are 

placed in the Marine Resources Conservation Trust Fund.43 

Table 3. Florida Boat Registration Fees. 

Vessel Class  Fee 

Class A-1 (< 12’) $5.50 

Class A-2 (12’-16’) $16.25 

Class 1 (16’-26’) $28.75 

Class 2 (26’-40’) $78.25 

Class 3 (40’-65’) $127.75 

Class 4 (65’-110’) $152.75 

Class 5 (> 110’) $189.75 

 

Florida law prohibits storing, leaving or abandoning any derelict vessel in the state.44 The Florida 

Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWCC) and its officers or any other law enforcement 

agencies or officers may relocate, remove, or cause the removal or relocation of any derelict vessel 

in public waters.45 The owner of a derelict vessel is liable for all costs arising out of the relocation or 

                                                             
39 Fla. Stat. ch. 328.72. 
40 Fla. Stat. ch. 328.72. 
41 Florida Dep’t Hwy. Safety & Motor Veh., Vessel Titling and Registrations, at https://www.flhsmv.gov/motor-

vehicles-tags-titles/vessels/vessel-titling-registrations/. 
42 Fla. Stat. ch. 328.72(15). 
43 Id. ch. 328.72(16). 
44 Fla. Stat. §§ 376.15, 823.11. 
45 Id. §§ 376.15, 823.11. 

https://www.flhsmv.gov/motor-vehicles-tags-titles/vessels/vessel-titling-registrations/
https://www.flhsmv.gov/motor-vehicles-tags-titles/vessels/vessel-titling-registrations/
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removal of the vessel from state waters.46 Florida has established two grant programs to support 

derelict vessel removal.  

 The Florida Coastal Protection Trust Fund supports activities related to pollutant discharge 

prevention, cleanup, and rehabilitation.47 It can be used by the Fish and Wildlife 

Conservation Commission, among other purposes, to fund a grant program to local 

governments to remove derelict vessels from public waters.48 The moneys in the trust fund 

are derived from natural resource damage recoveries, fuel excise taxes, and certain other 

sources.49  

 The Florida Boating Improvement Program provides a minimum of $1.25 million per year 

for the cleanup and removal of derelict vessels and other boating-related activities. Funds 

are derived from motor fuel taxes and awarded by FWCC through a competitive grant 

process open to local government entities.50  

The FWCC has set up a derelict vessel grant program, which combines these two funding sources 

and has expended over $1 million in grants to date.51  

Georgia  
Boater registration fees are determined by the length of the vessel (Table 4).52 Georgia also requires 

that all vessels equipped with a marine toilet obtain a certification for $5 per year.53 Georgia also 

taxes tangible personal property, including boats, with payments returned to the relevant county.54 

Table 4. Georgia Boat Registration Fees. 

Vessel Length Fee 

Less than 16’ $15 

16’-25’ $36 

26’-39’ $90 

40’ and over $150 

Marine Toilet Certification $5 

                                                             
46 Id. § 823.11. 
47 Fla. Stat. § 376.11. 
48 Id., citing Fla. Stat. § 376.15. 
49 Fla. Stat. §376.11. 
50 Fla. Stat. § 206.606. 
51 Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Comm’n, Derelict Vessel Removal Grant Program, at 

http://myfwc.com/boating/grant-programs/derelict-vessel/, NOAA Marine Debris Program, Abandoned and 

Derelict Vessels in Florida, at https://marinedebris.noaa.gov/abandoned-and-derelict-vessels/florida. 
52 Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-5. 
53 Georgia Dep’t Nat. Res., Vessel Registration, at http://www.georgiawildlife.com/node/2963. 
54 Ga. Code Ann. §§ 48-5-3, 48-5-10. 

http://myfwc.com/boating/grant-programs/derelict-vessel/
https://marinedebris.noaa.gov/abandoned-and-derelict-vessels/florida
http://www.georgiawildlife.com/node/2963
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Hawaii 
Hawaii assesses annual registration fees based on vessel length (Table 5).55 Boat manufacturers and 

dealers must purchase annual certificates in lieu of these feesat a cost of $20.00.56 

Table 5. Hawaii Boat Registration Fees. 

Vessel Length Initial registration fee Certificate renewal fee 

Less than 20’ $13 $10 

20’ and over $25 $15 

Illinois  
Illinois boater registration fees are determined by the class of the vessel (Table 6). The length of the 

vessel determines what class the vessel falls into and the fee that applies.57 Twenty percent of all 

watercraft registration funds are placed in the Conservation Police Operations Assistance Fund.58 

Non-powered boats are required to have a “water usage stamp,” at an annual cost of $6 for 3 

stamps.59 All registration fees (other than those otherwise set aside), as well as most fines and other 

income received by the state, is “set apart in a special fund to be known as the State Boating Act 

Fund” to be used for activities related to registration, boat safety and education, and enforcement, 

including construction or improvement of boating facilities.60  

Class 2, 3, and 4 watercraft registered or titled in Illinois are additionally subject to a use tax, which 

applies at the time of sale.61  

Table 6. Illinois Boat Registration Fees. 

Class  Fee* 

Class 1 (powered < 16’) $18 

Class 2 (16’-26’) $50 

Class 3 (26’-40) $150 

Class 4 (> 40’) $200 

* An additional $10 is required for initial registration applications.62 

                                                             
55 Haw. Rev. Stat. §200-32. 
56 Id. 
57 625 Il. Comp. Stat. 45/3-2. 
58 625 Il. Comp. Stat. 45/3-2. 
59 625 Il. Comp. Stat. 45/3-1.5. 
60 625 Il. Comp. Stat. 45/10-1. 
61 Il. Admin. Code tit. 86, § 150.705. 
62 Illinois Dep’t Nat. Res., Transaction Fees, at 

https://www.dnr.illinois.gov/boating/Pages/Transactionfees.aspx. 

https://www.dnr.illinois.gov/boating/Pages/Transactionfees.aspx
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Indiana  
Indiana boater registration fees are determined by the length of the vessel (Table 7). Registrations 

do not need to be renewed. Fees are distributed as follows: 

 Fifty cents ($0.50) to the state motor vehicle technology fund. 

 One dollar ($1) to the commission fund. 

 Three dollars ($3) to the crossroads 2000 fund. 

 Any remaining amount to the department of natural resources. 

In addition to the registration fees, Indiana requires payment of annual excise taxes, which are 

based on the value of the vessel for motorboats and sailboats.63 Boats stored in Indiana for 60 days 

or more are subject to a special excise tax of $12.64 Two additional special fees are required as well: 

a five-dollar Department of Natural Resources Fee and a Lake and River Enhancement Fee based on 

the value of the boat.65  

The Indiana Code outlines requirements for the use of the lake and river enhancement fees.66 The 

Department of Natural Resources (DNR) can use the funds to implement lake and river 

enhancement projects to remove sediment; control exotic or invasive plants or animals; or remove 

logjams or obstructions.67 

Table 7. Indiana Boat Registration Fees.68 

Vessel Length Fee 

Less than 13 ft  $15 

13’-26’ $18 

26’-40’ $21 

40’ and over $24 

 
Table 8. Indiana Lake and River Enhancement Fee Amounts. 

Vessel Value  Amount of the Fee 

Less than $1,000 $ 5 

At least $1,000, but less than $3,000 $10 

At least $3,000, but less than $5,000 $15 

At least $5,000, but less than $10,000 $20 

At least $10,000 $25 

                                                             
63 Ind. Code § 6-6-11-10. 
64 Id. 
65 Id. § 6-6-11-12.5. 
66 Id. 
67 Ind. Dep’t Nat. Res., Policies Regarding Sediment Removal, Logjam Removal, and Invasive Plant and Animal 

Control, Lake & River Enhancement (LARE) Program (2016), available at 

http://www.in.gov/dnr/fishwild/files/fw-LARE_Policies_Sed_Removal_Logjam_AVM.pdf. 
68 Ind. Code § 9-31-3-9. 

http://www.in.gov/dnr/fishwild/files/fw-LARE_Policies_Sed_Removal_Logjam_AVM.pdf
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Louisiana 
Louisiana has established registration fees for motorboats and sailboats, which vary by vessel 

length ( 

Table 9).69 All fees collected are credited to the Conservation Fund and used to fund overtime for 

Department of Fish and Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement officers.70 Boats using gasoline as fuel 

are exempt from property taxation.71 

Table 9. Louisiana Boat Registration Fees. 

Vessel length Fee 

Less than 14’  $20 

14’-18’ $25 

18’ and over $30 plus $2 per foot longer than 18 feet 

Maine 
Maine has established registration fees for vessels that differ based on horsepower (Table 10). Fees 

differ based on whether a vessel will be operated exclusively in inland waters: vessels in inland 

waters are charged a higher fee.72 Maine does not designate the use of registration fees for a 

particular purpose. 

Table 10. Maine Boat Registration Fees. 

Vessel Type Price with lake and river 

protection sticker* 

Price without lake and river 

protection sticker* 

0-10 Horsepower Motor $25 $15 

11-50 Horsepower Motor $30 $20 

51-115 Horsepower Motor $36 $26 

Over 116 Horsepower Motor $44 $34 

Personal Watercraft $44 $34 

* A $1 additional agent fee is also required for renewals, and $2 for new registrations. 

Maine requires all boat owners who are exempt from registration (including nonresidents) to 

purchase a lake and river protection sticker to use their craft on the state’s inland waters.73 The 

sticker costs $20, and 80% is credited to the Invasive Aquatic Plant and Nuisance Species Fund, 

while 20% is credited to the Lake and River Protection Fund.74 The Invasive Aquatic Plant and 

Nuisance Species Fund can be used only for watercraft inspection and invasive aquatic plant-

                                                             
69 La. Rev. Stat. § 851.20. 
70 Id. 
71 La. Const. art. VII, § 21(14). 
72 Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 12, § 13056. 
73 Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 12, § 13058. 
74 Id. 
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related activities.75 The Lake and River Protection Fund may be used for enforcing laws related to 

invasive aquatic plants, as well as related inspections, education, and management activities.76 

Maine has also established an excise tax on watercraft, payable annually by the owner of any 

watercraft located in the state, regardless of registration status.77 The amount of tax is based on 

vessel length and, for watercraft between 13 and 23 feet long, on horsepower.78 Total excise taxes 

range from $6 for non-powered craft less than 13 feet to $586 for vessels 65 feet long (longer 

vessels charged higher taxes at a rate of $18 per food).79 These rates are reduced for commercial 

vessels and for vessels over ten years old ($20% reduction) and 20 years old (40% reduction). 

Taxes are paid to the municipality where the vessel is located, and payment is proved by display of 

a decal on the vessel.80 

Maryland  
Maryland has established a flat fee of $24 for two years for a certificate of number, which applies to 

all vessels with machinery onboard, and does not apply to vessels 16 feet or less or equipped with a 

7½-horsepower motor or smaller.81 Maryland requires that all owners of vessels documented by 

the U.S. Coast Guard but used principally in Maryland for pleasure obtain a “Maryland use sticker” 

at a cost of $10 for two years.82 

The Maryland State Boat Act established a 5% vessel excise tax (not to exceed $15,000) on the 

purchase price or fair market value of all vessels used principally in Maryland.83 The tax applies 

upon issuance of a certificate of title or other sale, or possession of a vessel in the state for principal 

use in the state.84 While not clear from the statute, vessel excise taxes are deposited into the 

Waterway Improvement Fund, which is dedicated to improving Maryland’s waterways through 

dredging, the placement of navigational aids, the construction of boating access facilities, boater 

safety education and law enforcement.85 The Fund supports projects including channel marking, 

clearing debris, dredging, erosion control and construction.  

                                                             
75 Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 38, § 1863. 
76 Me. Rev. Stat., tit. 12 § 10257. 
77 Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 36, § 1504. 
78 Id. 
79 Id. 
80 Id. 
81 Md. Code Nat. Res. § 8-712. 
82 Md. Code Nat. Res. § 8-712.1. 
83 Md. Rev. Stat. Nat. Res. § 8-716. 
84 Id. Vessels used in the state for less than 90 days per year are not deemed used for the purposes of the tax. 

Id. Vessels for which tax is paid in other jurisdictions are treated differently from other vessels. Id. 
85 Id. § 8-707; Maryland Dep’t Nat. Res., Boat Registration, at 

http://dnr.maryland.gov/boating/Pages/registration.aspx. 

http://dnr.maryland.gov/boating/Pages/registration.aspx
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Massachusetts  
Massachusetts bases its Boater registration fees on the length of the vessel (Table 11).86 These fees 

include a ten percent surcharge, which must be deposited into the Massachusetts Environmental 

Police Trust Fund.87  

Massachusetts also requires payment of a 1% annual excise tax on all vessels, to be assessed and 

levied by the municipality where the vessel is habitually moored, docked, or otherwise principally 

situated.88 Vessels are valued based on length and age, ranging from $400 for a vessel under 16 feet 

and seven or more years old to $50,000 for a vessel 60 feet or more and less than four years old.89 

All sums received from excise are paid into the municipal treasury, but 50% must be credited to the 

municipal waterways improvement and maintenance fund.90 

Table 11. Massachusetts Boat Registration Fees. 

Length of the Vessel  Fee 

Less than 16’ $44 

16’-26’ $66 

26’-40’ $88 

40’ and over $110 

 

Massachusetts has established the Abandoned Vessel Trust Fund to enable the Department of 

Conservation and Recreation to remove abandoned vessels from public waterways.91 Monies for 

the trust fund are received from the sale of abandoned vessels and through appropriations. 

Proceeds gained from the sale of abandoned vessels must be held in trust for 2 years and, if 

unclaimed by the owner of record, become the property of the Abandoned Vessel Trust Fund.92 

Michigan  
Michigan Boater Registration Fees are determined by both the type of vessel and length (Table 

12).93 Payment of a registration fee exempts owners from payment of general property tax for the 

vessel and decals are good for three years.94 All revenue received under the marine safety laws are 

deposited in the state treasury, which credits revenue to three specific purposes, including 

                                                             
86 Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 90B, § 3 (authorizing Commissioner of Administration to set fees annually) Mass. 

Executive Office of Energy & Envtl. Affairs, Registration Fee Increase Effective September 1, 2014, at 

http://www.mass.gov/eea/grants-and-tech-assistance/enforcement/environmental-police/boat-ohv-and-

snowmobile-registration-bureau/registration-fee-increase.html.  
87 Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 90B, § 39. 
88 Id. ch. 60B, § 2 
89 Id. 
90 Id. 
91 Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 10 § 35GG. 
92 NOAA Marine Debris Program, Abandoned and Derelict Vessels in Massachusetts, at 

https://marinedebris.noaa.gov/abandoned-and-derelict-vessels/massachusetts 
93 Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80124. 
94 Id. 

http://www.mass.gov/eea/grants-and-tech-assistance/enforcement/environmental-police/boat-ohv-and-snowmobile-registration-bureau/registration-fee-increase.html
http://www.mass.gov/eea/grants-and-tech-assistance/enforcement/environmental-police/boat-ohv-and-snowmobile-registration-bureau/registration-fee-increase.html
https://marinedebris.noaa.gov/abandoned-and-derelict-vessels/massachusetts
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implementation of the state waterways, harbor development, and water safety education.95 

However, vessel registration fees cannot be appropriated for inspection of vessels carrying 

passengers for hire.96 

Table 12. Michigan Boat Registration Fees. 

Type of Vessel  Fees 

Non-powered vessels, other than non-motorized canoes or kayaks $9 

Non-motorized canoes or kayaks $5 

Motorboats  Less than 12’ $14 

 12’-16’ $17 

 16’-21’ $42 

 21’-28’ $115 

 28’-35’ $168 

 35’-42’ $244 

 42’-50’ $280 

 50’ and over $448 

Pontoon vessels  $23 

Motorized canoes $14 

Vessels carrying passengers / freight for hire $45 

 

In 2014, Michigan law makers passed Public Act 549 to specifically address abandoned vessels. 

Prior to the passage of this legislation, abandoned vessels were primarily dealt with through laws 

governing lost or unclaimed property and littering.97 It is now unlawful to abandon a vessel, and 

owners are liable for the costs of removal.98 As part of the Act, the state created an Abandoned 

Vessel, ORV and Snowmobile Fund within the state treasury for administration of provisions that 

address abandoned vessels and abandoned scrap vessels.99 The monies in the fund are derived 

from appropriations and from fees related to abandoned vessel and abandoned scrap vessel 

redemption.100 

Minnesota  
Minnesota calculates watercraft license registration fees primarily based on the length of the vessel 

(Table 13), although there are also variances for non-powered vessels and personal watercraft, and 

based on the use of the vessel.101  All boat owners are also required to pay a surcharge of five 

                                                             
95 Id. § 324.80115. 
96 Id. 
97 NOAA Marine Debris Program, Abandoned and Derelict Vessels in Michigan, at 

https://marinedebris.noaa.gov/abandoned-and-derelict-vessels/michigan 
98 Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130f et seq. 
99 Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130l.  
100 Id. §§ 324.80130f, 324.80130g. 
101 Minn. Stat. § 86B.415. 

https://marinedebris.noaa.gov/abandoned-and-derelict-vessels/michigan
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dollars, which is used to support aquatic invasive species activities.102 Licenses are valid for three 

years.103 License and title fees, fines, and certain other revenues are placed in a “water recreation 

account” and can be used only for certain purposes, such as public access and boating facilities.104  

Table 13. Minnesota Boat Registration Fees. 

Vessel Length Fee 

Less than 17’ $18 

17’-19’ $27* 

20’-25’  $45 

26’-39’ $67.50 

40’ and over  $90 

* Fee varies for certain classes of vessels  

Mississippi 
Registration fees in Mississippi are based on vessel length (Table 14).105 All fees are deposited in a 

Fisheries and Wildlife Fund, which is used for purposes including administration, law enforcement, 

water safety, boating facilities, marketing, and salaries.106 Boats are subject to property tax in 

Mississippi but receipts are not dedicated to particular purposes. 

Table 14. Mississippi Boat Registration Fees. 

Vessel Length Fee 

Less than 16’ $7.50 

16’-26’ $22.50 

26’-40’ $45 

40’ and over $45 

 

Mississippi has established a Derelict Vessel Fund to cover the administrative costs and removal 

costs incurred by the Department of Marine Resources in the removal of abandoned vessels.107 The 

fund can also be used as a match for municipal and county funds to cover the costs of removing 

additional vessels.108 The fund revenues are derived from “court-ordered reimbursed costs or 

damages in excess of the actual costs of removal [of derelict vessels] and restoration [of affected 

lands].”109  

                                                             
102 Id. 
103 Minn. Stat. § 86B.401. 
104 Id. § 86B.706. 
105 Miss. Code Ann. § 59-21-25. 
106 Id. 
107 Miss. Code Ann. § 49-27-71. 
108 NOAA Marine Debris Program, Abandoned and Derelict Vessels in Mississippi, at 

https://marinedebris.noaa.gov/abandoned-and-derelict-vessels/mississippi 
109 Miss. Code Ann. § 49-27-71. 

https://marinedebris.noaa.gov/abandoned-and-derelict-vessels/mississippi
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New Hampshire 
New Hampshire determines boater registration fees based on the length of the vessel (Table 15).110 

Certain vessels are exempt from registration, including sailboats and human-powered boats under 

12 feet long.111 The state also imposes various additional fees for specific programs to benefit 

particular purposes related to boating and the environment (Table 16).112  

Table 15. New Hampshire Boat Registration Fees. 

Vessel Length  Fee  

Less than or equal to 16 feet $24 

16.1’-21’ $34 

21.1’-30’ $52 

30.1’-45’ $72 

45.1’ and over $92 

 
Table 16. Additional fees levied at registration in New Hampshire. 

Fee  Amount Use 

Lake Restoration and 

Preservation Fund 

$9.50 Exotic aquatic weed prevention and eradication 

Fish and Game Search and 

Rescue Fund  

$1 Search and rescue operations 

Agent fee $5 Compensation for registration sales 

Public Boat Access Fund $5 Implementation of state public boat access program 

Harbor Dredging and Pier 

Maintenance Fund 

$2 Applies to tidal or coastal waters only. Dredging 

and state pier maintenance. 

 

In addition to fees levied at registration, New Hampshire additional levies a boat fee on all boats 

except those specifically exempt.113 Boats under 10 feet long, human- and sail-powered boats under 

20 feet, commercial boats, and boats exempt from registration are exempt from the boat fee.114 Fees 

differ by: 

 boat type (cruisers, inboard runabouts, outboards, pontoon & houseboats, sailboats),  

 length,  

 motor power (number of motors, horsepower, fuel type, or motor location), and  

 age (new, 1 year, 2 years, 3 years, or 4 or more years).115 

                                                             
110 N.H. Rev. Stat. § 270-E:5. 
111 Id. § 270-E:4. 
112 Id. § 270-E:5. 
113 N.H. Rev. Stat. § 72-A:2. 
114 Id. 
115 Id. § 72-A:3. 
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The minimum fee is $10, and the maximum is $1761.40, for a new diesel-powered cruiser over 52.1 

feet long.116 Fees are collected at registration, or by a town treasurer where the vessel is not subject 

to registration, and are deposited in the Navigation Safety Fund.117 

New Jersey  
The fee system in New Jersey is based on the type of boat the owner is registering and the length 

(Table 17).118 All revenues are deposited into the “Maritime Industry Fund,” which is used for any 

project to support maritime industry, including dredging.119 

Table 17. New Jersey Boat Registration Fees. 

Vessel Length Fee 

Less than 16’ $12 

16’-26’ $28 

26’-40’ $52 

40’-65’ $80 

65’ and over $250 

New York 
New York charges both a registration fee and a vessel access surcharge on a triennial basis.120 The 

fees and surcharges are calculated from the length of the boat (Table 18).121 The vessel access 

surcharge is deposited in a “I love NY waterways” account.122 In addition, half of the registration 

fees are used for state aid to local government for navigation program implementation.123 A portion 

of the fee is also deposited in the highway and bridge trust fund.124 

Table 18. New York Boat Registration Fees. 

Vessel Length Registration 

fee 

Surcharge Total  

Less than 16’  $22.50 $3.75 $26.25 

16’-26’ $45 $12.50 $57.50 

26’ and over $75 $18.75 $93.75 

                                                             
116 Id. 
117 Id. § 72-A:4, citing N.H. Rev. Stat. § 270-E:6-a. 
118 N.J. Stat. Ann. § 12:7-34.47. 
119 Id. § 27:1A-82. 
120 N.Y. Veh. & Traf. Law § 2251. 
121 Id. 
122 Id. 
123 N.Y. Nav. Law § 79-b. 
124 N.Y. Veh. & Traf. Law § 2251. 
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North Carolina  
North Carolina’s Boater registration fee is based on the vessel length and can be obtained for one or 

three years.125 Vessels under 26 feet are charged $30 and vessels longer than 26 feet are charged 

$50.126 Fees also include an administrative surcharge.127 All revenues collected for numbering and 

titling are deposited in a Boating Account within the state Wildlife Resources Fund, and specified 

amounts of each fee must be used for administration and enforcement, education and waterway 

marking, and public access.128 In addition, 50% of numbering fees must be forwarded to the 

Shallow Draft Navigation Channel Dredging and Aquatic Weed Fund,129 which is used for dredging, 

aquatic weed programs, and inlet and beach management.130 Vessels are subject to annual 

assessment for property tax, and marinas are required annually to report each vessel located 

therein.131 

Ohio  
Ohio’s boater registration fees are determined by the length of the vessel (Table 19).132 Ohio boat 

registrations are renewed every three years.133 There is also a $3 writing fee, and non-powered 

craft are charged an extra $5 waterways conservation assessment fee.134 These fees are placed in a 

Waterways Safety Fund. 135  The fund can be used for publishing statutes and rules concerning 

watercraft, for publications which are solely for the purpose of providing education in watercraft 

safety, sanitation, or operation, and for other educational devices for that purpose.136 

Table 19. Ohio Boat Registration Fees. 

Vessel Length Fee 

Non-motorized canoes, etc. $12-17 

Class A  $30 

Class 1  $45 

Class 2  $60 

Class 3  $75 

Class 4  $90 

                                                             
125 N.C. Gen. Stat. § 75A-5. 
126 Id. 
127 N.C. Gen. Stat. § 75A-5.2(c). 
128 N.C. Gen. Stat. § 75A-3. 
129 Id. 
130 Id. § 143-215.73F. 
131 Id. §§ 105-274; 105-316. 
132 Ohio Rev. Code § 1547.54. 
133 Id. 
134 Id. 
135 Ohio Rev. Code § 1547.75.  
136 Ohio Div. State Parks & Watercraft, What it Costs to Register a Boat in Ohio, at 

http://watercraft.ohiodnr.gov/registrationfees. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/1547.75
http://watercraft.ohiodnr.gov/registrationfees
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Oregon 
The registration fee for an Oregon vessel is $4.50 per foot, or a flat $6 for boats assessed by the 

Department of Revenue.137 Use of a boat longer than 10 feet long also requires the purchase of an 

aquatic invasive species prevention permit from the State Marine Board.138 Permits cost $5, except 

for motorboats operated by nonresidents, which cost $20.139   

Oregon law authorizes the Oregon State Marine Board to establish and maintain a Salvaged Vessel 

sub-account.140 Funds from this account are collected from certificate and registration fees and 

cannot exceed $150,000.141 All fees in excess of $150,000 each biennium are deposited into the 

Boating Safety, Law Enforcement, and Facility Account.142 The salvaged vessel subaccount can be 

used to reimburse the Board or enforcement agencies for expenses associated with the “salvage, 

towing, storage and disposal” of abandoned or derelict vessels and boats under 200 gross tons.143  

Pennsylvania 
The Pennsylvania boat registration fee system is based on the type of boat the owner is registering 

and the length (Table 20).144 All fees must be deposited in the Boat Fund.145 The fund is used to 

carry out the functions of the state Fish and Boat Commission.146 

Table 20. Pennsylvania Boat Registration Fees. 

Type of vessel  Fee  

Non-motorized vessels $9 

Less than 16’ $13 

16’-20’ $19.50 

20’ and over $26 

Puerto Rico  
Puerto Rico assesses fees for boat registration on the basis of vessel length (Table 21).147 The fees 

collected are placed, along with fines for violations, into a special fund to be used for the 

                                                             
137 Or. Rev. Stat. § 830.790. 
138 Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 830.570, 830.565. 
139 Or. Rev. Stat. § 830.575. 
140 Or. Rev. Stat. § 830.948. 
141 Id., citing Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 830.790, 830.850. 
142 Id. 
143 Id. 
144 Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 30, § 5104. 
145 Id. 
146 Id. § 531. 
147 12 P.R. Laws Ann. § 1406. Registration requires proof of payment of excise taxes for vessel classes 3, 4, 5, 

and 6. Id. 
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implementation of the program and related activities.148 Excise taxes apply to the manufacture or 

import of any ship and are paid only once.149 

Table 21. Puerto Rico Boat Registration Fees. 

Vessel Length Fee 
Less than 16’ (class 1) $25 
16’-22’ (class 2) $50 
22’-30’ (class 3) $100 
30’-40’ (class 4) $200 
40’-65’ (class 5) $300 

65’ and over (class 6) $400 

Rhode Island  
Rhode Island bases its boat registration fees on the length of the vessel (Table 22).150 All fees are 

charged biennially.151 The fee paid by nonprofit organizations is a flat $50.152 All funds collected are 

paid into a restricted receipt account of the Department of Environmental Management (RIDEM) 

and used to fund departmental expenses, boating safety programs, facility maintenance, and 

services to mariners.153 Rhode Island assesses a “derelict and abandoned vessel and obstruction 

removal fee,” which is paid along with registration fees and which varies by vessel length.154 All 

revenues generated through this fee are placed in the derelict and abandoned vessel and 

obstruction removal account.155 

Table 22. Rhode Island Boat Registration Fees. 

Length of vessel  Registration fee ADV and obstruction 

removal fee 

Less than 16’ $30 $2 

16’-21’ $40 $2 

21’-26’ $60 $6 

26’-31’ $100 $8 

31’-36’ $200 $12 

36’-41’ $250 $14 

41’-46’ $300 $16 

46’-51’ $400 $18 

51’ and over $600 $20 

                                                             
148 Id. § 1411. 
149 13 P.R. Laws Ann. §§ 31629, 31621. 
150 R.I. Gen. Laws § 46-22-4. 
151 Id. 
152 Id. 
153 Id. § 46-22-18. 
154 Id. § 46-6-10.4. 
155 Id. 
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The director of RIDEM was directed to prepare and submit a report to the general assembly of the 

feasibility of a sticker program to fund invasive species management in state lakes and rivers.156 In 

that report, RIDEM determined that a sticker program similar to that used in Maine was not 

justifiable due to the smaller number of vessels using freshwater resources in the state.157 

South Carolina  
South Carolina assesses a flat fee of $30 for numbering of a motorboat, which stays in effect for 

three years.158 Sailboats and paddle boats without propulsion machinery are exempt from 

numbering.159 Registration is contingent upon payment of excise tax upon purchase of a boat; this 

tax, or sales and use tax, is assessed only once.160 

Texas  
Texas boater registration fees are based on the length of the vessel (Table 23).161 These fees are set 

by statute, but can be and have been increased by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission.162 Non-

powered vessels under 14 feet long are exempt.163 Registration is valid for two years. 

Powered boats are subject to sales and use taxes, as in other states. Texas requires that five percent 

of such taxes be deposited in the Game, Fish, and Water Safety Account.164 

Table 23. Texas Boat Registration Fees. 

Vessel Length Fee 

Less than 16’ $32 

16-26’ $53 

26-40’ $110 

40’ and over $150 

 

Texas fund the removal of abandoned and derelict vessels. The costs incurred by law enforcement 

agencies for removing abandoned watercraft will, if possible, be recovered from the owner or 

operator of the vessel and/or reimbursed from the proceeds generated from selling or salvaging 

                                                             
156 R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-17.1-2(34). 
157 RIDEM, Rhode Island Freshwater Lakes and Ponds: Aquatic Invasive Plants and Water Quality Concerns 

40-43 (2012). 
158 S.C. Code §§ 50-23-340 (fee), 50-23-370 (expiration) 
159 Id. § 50-23-320. 
160 S.C. Code § 12-36-1710. 
161 Tax. Parks & Wild. Code § 31.026; 31 Tex. Admin. Code § 53.16. 
162 Id. 
163 Tex. Parks & Wild. Code § 31.022. 
164 Tex. Tax Code § 160.121. 



26 

the vessel.165 Any excess is deposited in the Coastal Protection and Improvement Fund, which is a 

trust fund designed to pay for the costs of oil spill response and prevention.166 

Vermont 
Vermont establishes boater registration fees based on the class of the vessel and how long the 

owner would like the registration to last, with a small discount for a two-year registration (Table 

24).167 Vermont has created the “Motorboat Registration Fund” in which all fees and penalties are 

deposited.168 Fund monies are devoted to specific uses, as follows: 

 10 percent to the Department of Public Safety for enforcement and boating safety 

education; 

 34 percent to the Department of Fish and Wildlife to match federal funds, construct, 

upgrade, and expand boating access areas and facilities and facilitate or establish and 

maintain pump out stations; 

 17 percent to the Department of Environmental Conservation for aquatic nuisance control; 

 7 percent to the Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets for mosquito control;  

 20 percent to the Department of Environmental Conservation for an Aquatic Nuisance 

Control Grant Program; and 

 12 percent to the Transportation Fund.169 

Table 24. Vermont Boat Registration Fees. 

Class  Renewal fee for 1 year  Renewal fee for 2 years  

Motor boat Class A (< 16’) $31 $57 

Motor boat Class 1 (16’-26’) $49 $93 

Motor boat Class 2 (26’-40’) $80 $155 

Motor Boat Class 3 (> 40’) $153 $303 

Virgin Islands 
The Virgin Islands has established a fee system that is based on vessel length (Table 25).170 

Commercial vessels are charged a rate 1.5 times the recreational rate.171 The numbering 

requirements apply only to motorboats.172 Fees do not appear to be placed in a special fund. 

However, special funds related to navigation have been established, including a Marine and 

Aviation Fund into which all ship dues, pilotage fees, quarantine fees, and miscellaneous revenue 

                                                             
165 Tex. Nat. Res. Code § 40.108. 
166 Id.; see also NOAA Marine Debris Program, Abandoned and Derelict Vessels in Texas, at 

https://marinedebris.noaa.gov/abandoned-and-derelict-vessels/texas 
167 Vt. Stat. Ann. §§ 3304 (classification), 3305 (fees). 
168 Id. § 3319. 
169 Id. 
170 25 V.I. Code Ann. § 293. 
171 Id. 
172 Id. § 292. 

https://marinedebris.noaa.gov/abandoned-and-derelict-vessels/texas


27 

collected through the harbors must be deposited.173 The fund is used, among other things, for the 

removal of sunken watercraft or other obstructions.174  

Table 25. Virgin Islands Boat Registration Fees. 

Vessel class Fee 

Class I (< 16’) $25 

Class II (16’-26’) $50 

Class III (26’-40’) $100 

Class IV (40’-65’) $150 

Class V (> 65’) $200 

Virginia  
Virginia’s boat registration fee system is based on boat length and applies only to motorboats 

(Table 26).175 All funds obtained from this system are deposited in a subaccount within the state 

game protection fund called the “motorboat and water safety fund.”176 These moneys can be used 

for administration, enforcement, education, and other related activities.177 

Boats in Virginia are subject to tangible personal property taxation, which are valued based on a 

pricing guide or a percentage of original cost.178 These taxes are assessed on an annual basis. 

Table 26. Virginia Boat Registration Fees. 

Vessel Length  Fee 

Less than 16’ $27 

16’-20’  $31 

20’-40’  $37 

40’ and over $45 

 

Virginia has created a Marine Habitat and Waterways Improvement Fund can only be used to 

improve marine habitat and waterways, including “removal of obstructions and hazardous 

property from state waters.”179 Vessels “in a state of abandonment, in danger of sinking, or in such 

disrepair as to constitute a hazard or obstruction to the use of [a] waterway” are considered 

hazardous conditions, and the fund can be used to remove them.180 The Fund receives monies from 

                                                             
173 Id. § 132. 
174 Id. § 133. 
175 Va. Code Ann. §§ 29.1-702 (setting initial fees), 29.1-701.1 (authorizing Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries to alter fees). 4 Va. Admin. Code § 15-380-120 (altering fees). 
176 Va. Code Ann. §§ 29.1-701. 
177 Id. 
178 Id. § 58.1-3503. 
179 Va. Ann. Code § 28.2-1204.2. 
180 Id. § 28.2-1210. 
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legislative appropriations and the proceeds from the sale of state-owned marine lands, as well as 

certain fees, rents, royalties, and civil penalties related to submerged lands.181  

Washington 
Washington’s boat registration fee is a flat $10.50, which is supplemented by several fees for 

particular purposes, as well as service fees not discussed here (Table 27).182 These include a $5 

derelict vessel and invasive species removal fee, a $1 derelict vessel removal surcharge, and special 

fees for non-resident ($25) and visiting ($30) vessels. Registration fees exceeding $1,100,000 are 

allocated to counties for boating safety education and law enforcement programs.183 Each other fee 

is distributed for particular purposes according to formulas set out in the statute (Table 27). The 

derelict vessel removal account is used to support a vessel turn-in program, reimburse public 

entities for up to 90% of the costs associated with vessel removal and disposal.184 Other special 

accounts include the aquatic invasive species prevention account,185 aquatic algae control 

account,186 and aquatic invasive species enforcement account.187 

Table 27. Washington special fees associated with boat registration. 

Fee Amount Distribution 

Derelict vessel and invasive 

species removal 

$1.50 Aquatic invasive species prevention account 

$1 Aquatic algae control account 

$0.50 Aquatic invasive species enforcement account 

$2 Derelict vessel removal account 

Derelict vessel removal surcharge $1 Derelict vessel removal account  

Nonresident vessel permit $25* Administration & county boating safety 

programs 

Vessel visitor permit $5  Derelict vessel removal account 

As needed Administrative costs 

Remainder County boating safety programs 

* vessels not owned by a natural person are charged at different rates 

In addition to the registration and related fees, Washington boaters are subject to an annual excise 

tax at a rate of 0.5 percent of the fair market value.188 The tax applies to all watercraft that are not 

                                                             
181 Va. Ann. Code § 28.2-1204.2, 28.2-1206 (fees, rents, and royalties), 28.2-1208 (royalties), 28.2-1213 (civil 

penalties). 
182 Wash. Rev. Code § 88.02.640. 
183 Id. § 88.02.650. 
184 Id. § 79.100.100. 
185 Wash. Rev. Code § 77.12.879. 
186 Id. § 43.21A.667. 
187 Id. § 43.43.400. 
188 Id. § 82.49.010. 

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=77.12.879
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=43.21A.667
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=43.43.400


29 

exempted; the latter include, but are not limited to, vessels less than 16 feet long and those exempt 

from registration.189 

Wisconsin 
Wisconsin boat registration fees are determined by the length of the vessel (Table 28).190 Wisconsin 

also provides the option for boat owners to voluntarily donate to the state for aquatic invasive 

species research and control when applying for registration.191 The minimum donation is $2.00, of 

which $0.50 can be retained by the registration agent as an administrative fee.192 Wisconsin does 

not direct registration funds to a special fund. 

Table 28. Wisconsin Boat Registration Fees. 

Vessel length Fee 

Non-motorized sailboats $17 

Less than 16’ $22 

16’-26’ $32 

26’-40’ $60 

40’ and over  $100 

 

                                                             
189 Id. § 82.49.020. 
190 Wis. Stat. § 30.52. 
191 Id. 
192 Id. 
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