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Have you lost the traditional market for your What’s Ne eded to S e“
catch? Experienced a drop in prices offered for your .
product? Or are you just trying to keep up with sky- Fresh Fish

rocketing expenses?

Whatever your reason, you, like many of To sell your catch yourself, you must:
your fetlow fishermen, may be interested in selling ®  obtain a tax registration number, pay excise
your catch direct to the general public, to retailers, and sales taxes
or to restaurants. This is fine, but in order to protect ®  buy a wholesale fish dealet’s license
both yourself and the consumer, you need to follow ®  obtain a surety bond
the legal-—and sanitary—requirements for operating ®  use an inspected and approved scale
this type of business. This bulletin explains the re- ®  secure a county and/or city business license, if
quirements in Washington State for you to sell required
unprocessed fish and shellfish to the general public ®  comply with state and local health department
from your own boat or vehicle. Since requirements regulations
do change occasionally, it is important for you to These are the requirements if you are a sole
contact the various agencies mentioned in this bul- proprietot with no employees,who is selling un-
letin before you begin your operation. processed fish or shellfish. For information on

requirements for other kinds of businesses, see sec-

- tion For Other Kinds of Businesses.
Where to Start | d

The Washington State Department of
Licensing is the primary source for information
about licensing any new business, Upon request,
the department witl send you a packet of informa-
tion specifically designed to expedite your efforts
to register and license a business. The address and
telephone number of the department are:

Department of Licensing
Business License Center
Olympia, WA 98504
(800) 562-8203

*Tax Registration Number

Because the state collects sales and excise
taxes on receipts from the sate of fish, you are re-
quired to have a tax registration number. A tax .
number valid for the duration of the business is avail-
able for a one-time fee of $15 from the Departmént.
of Revenue. A temporary tax number valid for up to

' 30 days may be obtained free of charge.

A fisherman who retails or wholesales his
own catch is responsible for payment of the excise
tax, as well as sales tax at the current rate, to the
Washington Department of Revenue regardless of
whather or not these taxes have been collected from
the buyer. Current rates for the excise tax on fish are
as follows: ‘

®  5.35% for chinook, coho, chum, salmon, and
anadromous game fish, such as steelhead trout
3.21% for pink and sockeye salmon

0.07% for oysters

2.14% on all other fish and shellflsh




For more information on the tax registration number
and the payment of excise taxes, contact:

Department of Revenue

General Administration Building
Olympia, WA 98504

(206) 7535540

* Wholesale Fish Dealer’s License

If you sell your catch to anyone other than a
licensed wholesaler, you will need a wholesale fish
dealer’s license. The purpose of this license is to rec-
ord fish landings. The cost is $37.50 annually and
the license may be obtained from:

Department of Fisheries
Licensing Division

Mailing address:
115 General Administration Bulldmg
Olympia, WA 98504

Office address:

902 East Union
Olympia, WA 98504
(206) 753-6590

*Surety Bond

To make certain that fish receipts are re~
ported in a timely and accurate manner, a $2,000
surety bond is requited. Additional information and
forms.are available from the Department of Fisheries
Licensing Division at the above address.

*Inspected and Approved Scales
The scale you use for weighing your product
should be accurate. The National Bureau of Stan-
dards sets certain standards for commercially used
scales. The scales that you use must be certified an-
nually by the Washington State Department of . -
Agriculture, For information on ceniﬁcation contact

~ Department of Agriculture
Division of Weights and Measures N
406 General Administration Building 4%
Olympia, WA 98504 R 450
(206) 7535042

* City and/or County Business

License
"Contact your local city licensing department
or county clerk’s office to find out if you need a city
or county business license to operate in your chosen
area.

State Health Requirements

The Washington State Department of Health
is the primary state agency responsible for protecting
the public health and safety with regard to food sales
and consumption. You may contact them for the
latest copy of their publication “Rules and Regula-
tions of the State Board of Health for the Sanitary
Control of Shellfish.” Copies are available from:

Department of Health/Shellfish Program
Mail Stop LD-11

Olympia, WA 98504

(206) 753-5992

Individual counties may have additional requirements
{described later in this publication), beut all must
comply with Department of Health regulations.

The following general guidelines, while not
all-inclusive or as detailed as those in the publication
just mentioned, tend to be commonly agreed upon
throughout the state.

All seafood must be from an approved
source, It must be wholesome, properly labelled, and
free from spoilage and adulteration. All people in-
volved in the business must comply with the

. sanitation guidelines described below. If handling

raw product, each person must possess a valid Wash-
ington State food handler's permit. During storage,
transportation, display, and distribution, all seafood
must be held under sanitary conditions in a tem-
perature-controlled atmosphere, Fresh seafood
should be maintained at a temperature as close to
32°F as possible, (Because of the extreme perish-
ability of seafood products, the rate of bacterial
spoilage increases dramatically with each degree of
increased temperature.) Frozen product must be
maintained at or below 0°F at all times.

Local health inspectors have the authority to
impose additional requirements if necessary and to
revoke operating permits if a business constitutes a
potential hazard to public health.

Molluscan shellfish fall into a special cate-
gory because of the possibility of contamination
from paralytic shellfish poisoning. Clams, oysters,
mussels, and other bivalves are regulated and moni-
tored by the Washington State Department of Health,
Shellfish Program. All molluscan shellfish sold must



be from a licensed and approved shellfish bed. Dif-
ferent licenses are necessary depending

on the type of business. (More information on
licensing procedures for molluscan shellfish sales is
included in the section entitled For Other Kinds of
Businesses.)

Sanitation Guidelines

Certain standards have been accepted na-
tionally by the food industry as guidelines to ensure
that food is prepared, packaged, and stored under
safe and sanitary conditions, The following is a gen-
eral overview of these as they would apply to all.
counties within the state.

Locatlon. Regardless of where you decide
to sell your fish, pick a site that can be kept clean.
Avoid areas where dust, dirt, debris, waste, and
other contaminants cannot be controlled.

Cleansing Agents and Practices. Be sure
that all detergents, sanitizers, and other supplies
used in cleaning and sanitizing procedures are safe
and effective for the intended use. Sanitation in-
volves treating a product or area with a chemical
agent or with heat to destroy bacteria. Examples of
chemical sanitizers are chlorine compounds (such as
bleach), iodine compounds, or quaternary am-
monium compounds. Steam or hot water above
170-180°F may also be used. Wash all product con-
tact surfaces, knives, weighing scales, and contamers
frequently.

Pest Control. Take effective measures to
protect against contamination of fish by insects,
birds, rodents, or other animal life. Since the use of
insecticides or rodenticides is permitted only when
necessary precautions are taken to prevent con-
tamination of food or wrapping materials, you
should use closed containers, netting, or other pro-
tective devices..

" might interfere with sanitation,

- unit should be equipped with an accurate, easily

~ Containers, To hold your fish, choose cov-
ered containers that can be easily sanitized and that
do not have cracks, crevices, or other features that

Ice and Refrigeration, Ice must be from
potable water obtained from an approved source and )
held under sanitary conditions. Each refrigeration

readable thermometer located in the warmest part of
the unit. .
Waste Disposal and Drainage. You will
need to provide adequate drainage for melting ice.
You must also provide for proper disposal of waste
such as fish guts, soiled paper, and the like.

Personal Cleanliness, It is essential that
you wear clean clothes while preparing or selling
your fish. It goes without saying that you should have
no communicable disease or be affected with boils,
sores, infected wounds, or other blemishes that
might result in contamination of the fish or that
might be transmitted to another individual. You
should wash your hands thoroughly and frequently,
and take care to keep hair, tobacco, perspiration, or
any other foreign matter from contacting the fish,

The reasons for adhering to the procedures
outlined above are twofold: First, customers tend to
be attracted to sales operations that look hygienic
rather than to those that Jook dirty. Second—and
even more important—sanitary operations teduce the
chances of a customer’s contracting a foodborne ill-
ness, No one wishes to contribute to the spread of
disease.

Protect from pesis!



Clty and County
Requirements

As already indicated, requirements vary
from county to county and within cities depending
upon individual circumstances, Most county health
departments inspect and license any individual busi-
ness that intends to sell seafood to the public. The
two most common types of permits are the mobile
food vendor permit and the temporary food service:
establishment permit. For any type of operation that
you are considering, plan ahead and allow ample
time for processing an application and for inspection
of the facility or vehicle. As a general rule, the more
invelved the operation is, the more involved and
time-consuming the licensing procedure is likely to
be. For example, if you plan to cut or wrap fish, the
licensing of your business will probably take longer
and be more complex than 1f you simply plan to sell
whole, gutted fish.

The following section summarizes current:
requirements at the time this leaflet was written,
However, it is essential that you contact the appro-
priate office In your area for additional details and
updated requirements.

Adams County

Adams County Health District
Environmental Health Department
165 North 1st Avenue

. Othello, WA 99344

(509) 4886159

Adams County Health Inspector, Glenn Boling _'

Adams County Health District requires that
all fish be frozen. An annual $37.50 permit or an
itinerant permit at $7.50 per day is required, Before
a permit is issued, ail units are inspected to make
sure that the product is held under sanitary condi-
tions and that temperature controls are adequate.
Invoices must be available to show source of sea-

food. Vehicles should be parked at a clean, dust-free

location.

Asotm County

P i i

Asatin County Health Department
431 Elm

Clarkston, WA 99403--2694

(509) 758-3344

Asotin County Health Inspector, Ronald F. Neu

. A mobile food service permit is required
and costs $25 annually. Seafood must be pre-
packaged, refrigerated, and held under sanitary
conditions.

Bellingham-Whatcom County
Whatcom County Envu'onmental Health Inspections
and Permits

P.O. Box 935

Bellingham, WA 98227

(206) 676-6724

Whatcom County Health Inspector, Paul Chudek

Food service permits are required for fish-
ermen to sell fresh fish at retail. An annual permit
may be purchased for a calendar year or a temporary
food service permit may be purchased if sales will be
in a single location for less than 14 consecutive days.

Finfish must be sold in the round or cleaned
with head on. Crab and shrimp if sold live are ex-
empt from the permit requirements. If sold cooked,
the product may not be shelled, peeled, or processed
in any way other than cooking.

Benton-Franklin Counties
Benton-Franklin Health District

506 McKenzie

Richland, WA 99532

(509) 943-2614

Franklin County Health Inspector, Lawrence D.
Kamberg :

The Benton-Franklin County Health District
is comprised of 2 counties—Benton and Franklin—
and 11 jurisdictions. A permit is required to sell fish
in this district; however, fees vary depending on the
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particular area in which a person sells. The sale of
fresh seafoods is prohibited at roadside sites, since
vendors cannot comply with the physical require-
ments. Guidelines for selling frozen seafood at
roadside sites are as follows: Fish must be trans-
ported and held under sanitary conditions and must
be maintained at temperatures of 0°F or below, Ei-
ther dry ice or mechanical freezers are adequate for
preservation. Wet ice is not permitted. Cutting, sub-
dividing large packs of seafood, filleting or
otherwise processing the product is not allowed with-
out compliance with the regulations pertaining to a
processor. Certain cities and counties may have other
regulations such as zoning restrictions, permission
from property owners, etc. In short, the health de-
partment permit is only part of the process. Sales to
restaurants may be allowed, but the health depart-
ment holds restaurants responsible for obtaining all
their food products from approved soutces, and sales
directly from harvester to restaurant may or may not
meet this requirement.

Bremerton-Kitsap County
Environmental Health Division

109 Austin Drive

Bremerton, WA 98312

(206) 478-5285

Kitsap County Health Inspector, David Tipton

Fish may be sold in the round, refrigerated
or frozen. No permits are necessary as long as the
fish are not processed. Filleting, wrapping, and other
processing dictate that you be a licensed processor
with proper facilities. Whole crab and shrimp may be
sold cooked or live to consumers or to retailers.
Health permits are required to sell processed fish and
shellfish. -

Chelan-Douglas Counties
Chelan-Douglas Health District

411 Washington Street

Wenatchee, WA 98801

(509) 664-5310

Chelan-Douglas Health Inspector, Ann Jensen

Fishermen may market their own catch to
restaurants. Roadside sales are permitted, provided
‘that the applicant obtains a mobile food vendor’s li-
cense, uses sanitary containers for holding and

displaying fish, maintains the temperature of the fish
or shellfish at 35°F or lower, and provides the health
department with an itinerary of selling dates and lo-
cations. Cutting or otherwise processing, except for
preliminary cooking of shellfish, is not permitted
from a mobile unit. If sales take place within the
City of Wenatchee, a business license is also re-
quired for a mebile unit.

Clallam County *

Clallam County Environmental Health
223 East 4th Street

Port Angeles, WA 98362

(206) 452-7831, ext. 332

Claltam County Health Inspector, Andy Brastad

_ Fishermen may sell fresh whole fish,
cleaned, but not processed; and refrigerated or iced
fish. The product must be wholesome and unadulter-
ated. Fishermen may sell to restaurants and to
consumers, either from a boat or from a roadside lo-
cation close to restroom facilities. They may seil
whole live crab and iced or refrigerated fresh shrimp
from their boats, and to restaurants, A permit costing
$50 annually is requited for all retail sales.

Columbia County
Columbia County Health District
114 North Second

Dayton, WA 99328

(509) 3822181

Columbia County Health Inspector, Gerald Pulliam

Fishermen may sell fresh or frozen seafood,
in the round or cleaned, at the roadside provided that
the product is held under sanitary conditions and is
refrigerated or iced. Sales to restaurants are not
within the purview of the health department. A
mobile food service permit is required from the dis-
trict; the cost is $15 per year.
Cowlitz-Wahkiakum Counties
Cowlitz-Wahkiakum Health District
Environmental Health Section
1516 Hudson, P.O. Box 458
Longview, WA 98632
(206) 577-0289

Cowlitz-Wahkiakum County Health Inspector
Audrey Shaver : _

Fishermen must obtair & food establishment
permit prior to commencement of business. Food
must be protected from contamination by being kept
covered. Boxes or other containers must be thor-



2y

1
within the city limits, a city business license may be
required. A citation will be issued to those found to
be selling seafood without the proper Grant County
licenses.

oughly cleaned with a sanitizing agent such as
bleach before being reused. Adequate temperature
control must be maintained by icing or mechanically
refrigerating the product. If ice is used, it must be
from an approved source. Drainage must be con-
tained and disposed of in an appropriate manner.
Further requirements must be followed when any
processing of the product takes place. Handwashing
and toilet facilities must be easity accessible. A per-
son responsible for complying with the above .
requirements must be present at all times in the food
establishment and this person must have a valid
Washington State food worker’s permit, which is ob-
tainable at the health district office.

Garfield County

Garfield County Health Department
P.O. Box 130

Pomeroy, WA 99347

(509) 843-3412

Garfield County Health Inspector, Ronald_ Neu

A mobile food service permit, costing $10
annually, is required to ‘sell seafood. The product
must be prepackaged and held under refrigeration in
sanitary conditions.

Grant County

Grant County Health District
P.O. Box 37

Ephrata, WA 98823

(509) 754-2011 ext. 372

Grant County Health Inspectors, Linda Moore,
Karen Paugh

A person planning itinerant seafood sales
must obtain a permit from the health department.
The cost is either $10 per day or $50 per year. The
facility to be used for setling must be inspected be-
fore operations begin. If the product is from a
wholesaler, the health department requires an invoice,
stating the license number of the wholesale dealer,
the type and quantity of seafood purchased, and
place and date the product was obtained. The health
department wants the license number and description
of the vehicle to be used selling seafood and a
driver’s license number of the person in charge.
Fresh seafood must be no more than 4 days old and
must be kept below 35°F if fresh or 0°F to — 10°F if
frozen. The product must be stored, displayed, and
dispensed in a clean and sanitary manner approved
by the health officer. Ice melt must be dealt with in
an appropriate manner. Satisfactory handwashing fa-
cilities must be available, If the sales operation is

Grays Harbor County
Grays Harbor County
Environmental Health Department
P.O. Box 391

Montesano, WA 98563

(206) 2494413

Grays Harbor Health Inspector, Denny McGaughy

No permit is required for fishertnen to sell -
fresh finfish, shrimp, and crab from their boats, at
the roadside, or to restaurants, Fish must be sold in
the round or cleaned with the head on. Crab and
shrimp may be sold cooked or live as long as the
product is not shelled, peeled, or processed in any
way other than boiling. The product must be held un-
der sanitary conditions with adequate temperature
controls.

A retail seafood market permit is required at
a cost of $60 per year to sell any seafood that has
been packaged, processed, or purchased from other
sources. Shellfish, other than crab or shrimp, may
not be sold without a permit. The depanment should
be contacted for specific information prior to engag-
ing in the retail sale of any food items,




Island County

Island County Health Department
P.O. Box 5000

Coupeville, WA 98239

(206) 679-7350

Island County Health Inspector, Maureen Wilber

No license is required to sell fresh finfish
(in the round or cleaned), crab, or shrimp from a
boat or to restaurants. However, to sell fish from the
roadside, it is necessary to have a mobile vendor’s
permit, costing $100 annually. Only approved fish
markets or licensed processors may portion, process,
or package fish. All fish products must be kept under
refrigeration (37°F or below) or on ice during transit
or storage. - -

Jefferson County

Jefferson County Environmental Health
Multi-Setvices Building, 2nd Floor
802 Sheridan

Port Townsend, WA 98368

(206) 385-0722

Jefferson County Health Inspector, Gwen Howard

All commercial fish markets must be ap-
proved and permitted at an annual cost of $40. Sale
of all processed and packaged products must be
from an approved source; this applies to roadside

operations.

Kittitas County

Kittitas County Health Department
507 Nanum

Ellensburg, WA 98926 -

(509) 962—6811, ext. 109

Kittitas County Health Inspector, Holly Eberhart

If fishermen possess a wholesale dealer’s
license, they may sel} to restavrants. A health depart-
ment permit at $70 per year, is required to resel
seafood or to sell seafood that has been caught in an-
other state, processed, or packaged.

Lewis County

Lewis County Health District
Health Services Building
P.O. Box 706 '
Chehalis, WA 98532

(800) 562-6130

Lewis County Health Inspector, Henry Hamm

* Either a temporary food service permit or a
regular food service permit is necessary (o sell sea-

food at the roadside. Temporary permits, which are
obtained from the Lewis County Health District, cost
$15 and are valid for up to 14 days in one location.
Regular permits are valid for one year and cost $40.
Seasonal permits are available for $20 and are valid
for up to 6 months. An itinerary of dates and loca-

tions is required by the health inspector. Dry ice or

mechanical refrigeration is necessary to maintain the
product.in a temperature-controiled atmosphere. No
processing is allowed at a roadside site, but a fisher-
man may sell seafood that has been processed in a
licensed and approved processing plant. Wholesaling
to restaurants requires that the product be from an
approved source and be labeled as such.

Lincoln County

Lincoln County Health Department
Environmental Health Division
Sixth and Sinclair

P.O. Box 105

Davenport, WA 99122

(509) 725-2301

Lincoln County Health Inspector, Marlena Guhlke

Fish must be from an approved source. A
written explanation of the seller's procedures for op-
erating at the roadside must be submitted to the
health inspector. The fee for a permit is $435 per year,
$15 quarterly, or $2.50 per day for itinerant. The
health department inspects the facility before licens-
ing the operation,

Mason County
Mason County Department of General Services

"Enviromental Health Division

P.O. Box 186

303 North 4th Street
Shelton, WA 98584
(206) 427-9670

Mason County Health Inspector, John Getty

Fishermen may sell fresh finfish and shrimp
and live crab at the side of the road if they have a re-
tail fish and meat market license. The license costs
$50 annually or may be prorated for shorter periods.
Cooked crab and shrimp must be processed in a li-
censed facility.
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Northeast Tri-county District
Northeast Tri-county Health District

East 347 Astor

P.O. Box 270

Colville, WA 99114

(509) 6842262

Northeast Tri-county Health Inspector, John Callen

The fish and/or shellfish must be from an
approved source. The product must be refrigerated
either by mechanical refrigeration or ice from an
approved source and there shall be no on-site pro-
cessing of the fish or shellfish other than splitting the
containers of the frozen product. Handwashing and
restroom facilities must be accessible, A food estab-
lishment permit must be obtained prior to sale. The
annual fee is $70 (renewal fee $50) ot temporary
permits can be obtained for $4.

Okanogan County
Okanogan County Health Department
227 North 4th

P.O. Box 231

Okanogan, WA 98840

(509) 422-3867

Okanogan County Health Inspector, Gary Robbins

A food establishment permit is required to
sell seafood directly to the consumer or to busi-
nesses. It costs $10 annually. The fish must be
handled in a sanitary manner and held at propet tem-
peratures, cither on ice or in refrigerated units.
Seafood products that have been packaged, cut up,

* filleted, or processed in any other fashion may not be
sold without the person in charge complying with
additional regulations, but to sell seafood products
that have been further processed, cut up, filleted, or

packaged, a fisherman must meet the requirements of

the Department of Agriculture for food processors,

Pacific County

Pacific County Health Dcpartment
Courthouse

South Bend, WA 98586

(206) 875-9343

Pacific County Health Inspector, David Nugent

Fishermen may sell fresh finfish, shrimp,
and live crab from their boats without obtaining a li-
cense. To sell from the side of the road requires a
$20 retail license, and there are certain stipulations.

- The department must be notified of the selling loca- -
tion, which should preferably be on a paved road, for

purposes of dust control. The product should be cov-
ered in some way, such as in containers or in the
back of a covered truck, The product must be in ice
or a mechanical refrigeration unit to maintain a tem-
peratura-controlled envirenment when it is sold at
the roadside. A handwashing facility must be pro-
vided. Processing or cooking must be done in an
approved retail or wholesale processing facility.
Scales used to weigh the product must be inspected
and approved by the Weights and Measures Section
of the Department of Agriculture,

San Juan County
San Juan County Health Department
P.O, Box 607

. Priday Harbor, WA 98250

(206) 378-4474
San Juan County Health Inspector, Sandra Newman

Fishermen may sell fresh finfish, either in
the round or cleaned, from their boats or to restau-
rants without obtaining a county permit. If additional
processing is to be done, a food establishment permit
must first be obtained. Fresh shrimp and live crab
may also be sold off a boat without a permit. Fresh
shrimp and crab may be cooked on boaid as long as
sold the same day cooked. All fish, shrimp, and crab
must be stored, transported and handled in such a
manner as to minimize potential contamination and
temperature abuse.
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Seattle-King County

Central Environmental Health
172 20th Ave,

Seattle, WA 98122

(206) 587-4632

Senior Meat Inspector, Dennis Montoya

Fishermen may sell fresh fish from their
boats within Seattle city limits. However, compliance
with appropriate health and sanitation guidelines
prescribed by regulatory agencies is necessary. A li-
cense is required at a cost of $75 (6 months) or $150
(annually). Selling at the roadside is prohibited in
Seattle and King County.

Skagit County

Skagit County Health Department
Courthouse Administration Building -
Mount Vernon, WA 98273

(206) 336-9380

Skagit County Health Ingpector, Corinne Story

Fishermen may sell fresh finfish, live
shrimp, and live crab from their boats to consumers
or to restaurants. Cooked shrimp and crab may
be sold from the boat, provided that fishermen
follow sanitary guidelines prescribed by the health
department. '

- All seafood must be transported in easily
cleanable, covered, sanitized containers, and it must
be properly iced with ice obtained from an approved
source. _ : '

Plan-review, licensing, and routine inspec-
tion are required for additional processing, selling
seafood purchased from other sources, or selling sea-
food at alocation other than from the boat,
regardless of whether the focation is permanent o
mobile. '
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Snohomish County
Snohomish County Health District
Cousthouse

Everett, WA 98201

(206) 339-5260

Food Program Supervisor, Rick Miklich

Fishermen may sell fresh finfish, shrimp,
and crab from their boats, or at the roadside, Road-
side sales require an opefating permit as outlined
below. Fish may be eviscerated and headed, but no
filleting or cutting is permitted except at an approved
processing facility. Shrimp and crab may be cooked
and processed on board with approval from the
health department. To sell fish caught outside state
waters or to sell fish at any location other than from
the boat, a fisherman must obtain a $100 annual
mobile fish vendor’s permit.

Requirements for obtaining a permit are
as follows: 1) If a truck or van is used, it must be
covered and used for no purpose other than food han-
dling. 2) Signs on the truck and along the road are
required and must be large enough to be easily read.
3) If products were not caught by the seller, a cur-
rent invoice indicating where the product was
purchased is required. 4) Only fish in the round,
whole crab, crab legs, and approved packaged prod-
ucts may be sold, and no processing at the site is

. permitted, 5) Containers must be of smooth, nonab-

sorbent, durable, and easily cleanable material.
Styrofoam is not approved. 6) Products must be
stored off the ground on tables that are smooth,
corrosion-resistant, nonabsorbent and easily clean-
able. 7) If ice is used, containers must be available
for liquid waste that meits inside the refrigerated
holding unit. Waste material must not be allowed to
drain onto the ground. 8) The health district requires
a written itinerary of all stops in Snohomish County
and days of sale.

Southwest Washington
Health District -
Vancouver/Clark County Health Center
2000 Fort Vancouver Way

Vancouver, WA 98668

(206) 695-9215

Southwest Washington Health Inspector, Tom Eli

Fresh fish in the round or cleaned may be
sold at the side of the road if they are mairitained at
the proper temperature. Two types of pérmits-are re-
quired; either an itinerant permit, which costs $20
for three consecutive days, if issued in the office, or
$25 if issued in the field, plus $5 for each day there-
after, or an annual license for $65. Health cards are
$5.

i



Spokane County
Spokane County Health District
West 110H College Avenue
Spokane, WA 99201-2095
(509) 4566040

Food Program Coordinator, Cecil Hayter

A mobile food service unit permit is re-
quired for each vehicle operating in the confines of
Spokane County. A fee of $40 is assessed for the
permit. Before a permit is issued, the requircments
listed below must be satisfied. C

1) A written listing of the supplier(s) for
each of the products to be sold must be provided.
Such information shall include the name of the com-
pany or individual(s), their mailing address and
phone number. 2) A written itinerary of the proposed
sales route must be provided. Such itinerary shall in-
clude the date and time expected for each location.
3) A written statement as to the location of any
storage warchouse or depot for the keeping of any
seafood products must be submitted. The storage, -
keeping or purchasing of seafood products that have
been stored or processed in a private residence,
garage, or other unapproved facility shail be deemed
as an unapproved source and unacceptable for sale in

Spokane County, 4) Invoices, bill of sales, or other

written evidence indicating place of purchase of the
seafood products must accompany an application for
a permit. 5) Shellfish products shall be properly la-
beled as to certification number, ete. so that their
place of origin may be determined. 6) All products
shall be prepackaged and properly labeled as to
contents, weight statement, etc. There shall be no
cutting, repackaging, or processing of the seafood
product on the sale site, Prepackaging of products
must be done in an approved commercial facility.

7) Al seafood products shall be maintained at proper
temperatures. Frozen products must be kept at or be-
. low O°F at all times. Non-frozen products shatl be
kept at a product temperature range between 32° and
38°F. 8) Ice that may be used as a refrigerant must
be obtained from an approved source, 9) Provision
must be made for periodic cleansing of the hands,
The treated disposable hand towelettes are accept-
able. A spray bottle containing a hand cleansing
solution is also acceptable. 10) The seafood products
shall be well-protected from outside elements (dust,
rain, etc.). 11) The vehicle used shall not be used to
haul animals, manure, chemicals, or other similar
items either in conjunction with the seafood products
or apart from them. 12) The vehicle shall be kept
clean and all products handled in a safe and sanitary
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manner. 13) A food and beverage service worker’s
permit (health card) iszued in the state of Washington
is required and must be carried on the mobile unit.
One may be obtained through any local health de-
partment in the state.

Tacoma-Pierce County
Tacoma-Pierce County

Health Department R

3629 South “D” Street

Tacoma, WA 98408

(206) 591-6450

Tacoma-Pierce County Health Inspector, Nedda

. Turner

In Pierce County, fishermen who wish to
sell their catch at the retail level are required to ob-
tain a food service permit. Fish may be cleaned, but
cutting of fish is allowed only by a licensed fish pro-
cessor at a licensed plant, '

Thurston County

Thurston County Health Department
County Courthouse

2000 Lakeridge Drive S.W.
Olympia, WA 98502-6045 -
(206) 786-5455

Thurston County Health Inspector, L. Darrell
Cochran . .

Fishermen may sell fresh finfish, either in
the round or cleaned, from their boats. Fishermen
may also sell fresh, whole finfish and crab from the
roadside provided that the product is stored under
sanitary conditions (covered and in sanitized con-
tainers), held at proper températures (below 45°F)
and provided that a handwashing facility is provided.
Filleting, cutting, or processing of seafood at the




roadside is prohibited. Crab sold at roadside stands
must be processed in an approved facility. A valid
Washington State Food and Beverage Service
Worker's Permit (foodhandler’s card) is required for:
all food handlers. A temporary food service estab-
lishment permit for $25 is available for a business
operating for 14 days or less. A restricted menu
mobile food service establishment permit for $36 is
available for a business that exceeds 14 days.

Walla Walla County

Walla Walla County-City Health Department
P.Q. Box 1753

310 West Poplar

Walla Walla, WA 99362

(509) 525-6730

Walla Walle County Health Inspector, David Eaton

There are two méthods of licensing a busi-
ness to sell seafood directly to the public in Walla
Walla County. The first is with a temporary food ser-
vice permit, which allows a fisherman to sell at-a
fixed location in conjunction with a single event or.
promotional affair, such as a fair or store promotion,
The temporary food service permit costs $10 plus $2
per day, up to a maximum of 14 days. The second
type of direct seafood sales operation is from a
mobile food unit, such as a refrigerated truck. For a
mobile food unit, the operator must work out of a'li-
censed facility, such as a retail business, processing
plant, or cold storage facility. If the base of operation
is located within the county, the mobile vendor’s per-
mit costs $15 annually. If the base of operation is
located outside the county, the cost of the mobile

vendor’s permit is $50 annually, and a variance from

the county health department is necessary. (Ob- -
viously, more lead time is necessary to acquire a
permit for a business with the base of operation lo-
cated outside the couaty.) The basic requirements for
either the temporary food service permit or the
mobile food vendor’s permit are as follows: mechani-

" cal refrigeration is necessary; the source of the
product must be approved by the health department;
and if the product is not prepackaged, handwashing
and restroom facilities rust be available.
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Whitman County

- Whitman County Health Department

Public Service Building
North 310 Main Streat
Colfax, WA 99111
(509) 397-347

Whitman County Health Inspector, James Nebel

In order for fishermen to sell their catch,
they must obtain a food &stablishment license from
the county. It costs $25 anaually and is valid from
March 1 to Match 1 of the following year. The prod-
uct must be held under sanitary conditions in a
temperature-controlled atmosphere. Containers must
be of cleanable and nonabsorbent material. There
must be a thermometer in each container. The prod-
uct must be.from an approved source. If the product
is not prepackaged, handwashmg facilities must be
available.

Yakima County
Yakima County Health District
104 North Fiest Street

Yakima, WA 98901

(509) 575-4040

Yakima County Health Inspector, Velda Allen

In order to sell fish in Yakima County, 8
fisherman must obtain a permit, which costs $135 the
first year and is rc.newablc thereafter for $75. Before
the health department gives a business a permit, the
facility must pass an inspection. A sultable vehicle
and appropriate equipment are necessary to insure
safe, sanitary transportation, storage, and display of
the product. Mechanical refrigeration is required.
Properly placed thermometers are necessary to moni-
tor food temperatures in each containsr. Surfaces
must be of smooth, easily cleanable material. All
food must be from an approved source. A valid
Washington State food handler’s permit is required
for those people who handle. fresh product. An itiner-
ant or temporary permit is available for an operation

conducting busipess for less than 15 days, The femy

porary permit costs $15-the first day and.$2. S0 fof
each additional d giy Information about sales to res-
taurants is availablé‘from the health department,



For Other Kinds of

Businesses

Certain requirements exist for businesses
that do not fit the category described above. For ad-
ditional information, contact the addresses listed
here,

To Engage in Interstate Transport
of Seafood Products:

Seafood products that cross state borders
fall under state and federal jurisdiction. While fed-
eral and state regulations for fresh and frozen
seafood are similar, it is important to contact the
U.S. Food and Drug Admiinistration and the reg-
ulatory agencies in both the state from which you are
exporting and the state to which you are importing.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Compliance Branch

22201 23rd Dr. S.E.

Bothell, WA 98021

(206) 486-8788

To Process Fish for Wholesale
Distribution: '

The Washington Food Pmcessmg Act re-
quires persons who process food for wholesale
distribution to obtain a food processor’s license prior
to beginning operation. Issuance of this license re-
quires inspection and approval of the food processing
facility by the Washington Department of
Agriculture,

Department of Agriculture

406 General Administration Building
Olympia, WA 98504

(206) 753-5043

To Sell, Pack or Ship Molluscan
Shellfish:

You must be licensed through the state. For
more information contact:

Department of Health/Shellfish Program
Mail Stop LD-11
Olympia, WA 98504
(206) 753-5992
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Businesses with more than one employee
will need to take into account one or more of the fol-
lowing steps:

To Get a Federal Employer L.D.
Number:

Internal Revenue Service
New Federal Building, 16th Floor -

915 Second Avenue ‘

Seattle, WA 98104

(800) 424-1040

To Register for Industrial
Insurance:

Department of Labor and Industries
300 West Harrison, Room 401
Seattle, WA 98119

(206) 4647793

To Register for Unemployment
Security:

Employment Security Department Tax Branch
P.O. Box 707321

Seattle, WA 98107

'(206) 545-6518

- To Incorporate and Secure a

Corporation License:
Office of the Secretary of State
Thurston Airdustrial Park
Tumwater, WA 98504

(206) 753-7115; Hrs. 8-t1 a.m. only

To File a Trade Name:

Sole proprietorships and general part-
nerships (Washington limited partnerships and .
corporations are exempt) conducting or transacting
business in Washington under any name other than

their true and real name ate required to file a Certifi-

cate of Trade Name with the Department of
Licensing. This certificate must show the names and
addresses of all persons conducting the business or
having an interest therein,

Department of Licensing
Business License Center
Olympia, WA 98504
(800) 5628203




Want More Information?

Washington Sea Grant is serving commer-
cial fishermen and others in the marine community
of this region through its research, technical as-

sistance, workshops, courses, and publications. If

you are interested in learning more about how Sea

Grant activities might benefit you, please contact one

of the field agents or specialists listed here.

Bellingham-North Sound Office
Marine Field Agent

Bellingham Vo-Tech Institute

19 Harbor Mall

Bellingham, WA 98223

{206) 6766429

Montesano-Coast Office

Steve Harbell, Extension Marine Fleld Agent
Courthouse, Box 552

Montesano, WA 98563

(206) 249-4332

Ilwaco—South Coast Office
Steve Harbell

P.O. Box 307

Ilwaco, WA 98624

(206) 642-3143

(Alternate Wednesdays)

Seattle-South Sound Office

Scott Harrington, Commercial Fisherman Agent or
Sarah Fisken, Program Assistant

Building C-3, Room 124

Fishermen’s Terminal

Seattle, WA 08119

(206) 543-1225

Olympic Peninsula Office

Sarah Fisken, Program Assistant
Arthur D. Feiro Marine Lab

Port Angeles, WA 98362

(206) 4529277, ext. 264
‘(Alternate Thursdays and Fridays)

Vancouver—Columbia-Snake River Office
Randy Anderson, Extension Marine Resources
Specialist

1919 N.E. 78th Street

Vancouver, WA 98665

(206) 696-6018 '
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Aquaculture and Shelifish Speclalist
Terry Nosho

Washington Sea Grant Program
University of Washington, HG-30
3716 Brooklyn Avenue N.E.

Seattle, WA 98105

(206) 5436600

Coastal Resources Specialist
Robert F. Goodwin

Coastal Resources Program
Institute for Marine Studies
University of Washington, HF-05
3707 Brooklyn Avenue N.E.
Seattle, WA 98105

(206) 545-2452 -

Port Industries Specinlist
Tom Dowd :

Coastal Resources Program
Institute for Marine Studies

- University of Washington, HF-05

3707 Brooklyn Avenue N.E.
Seattle, WA 98I05
(206) 545-2430

Seafood Processing Specialist

John B. Peters

Institute for Food Science and Technology.
University of Washington, HF-10° -
3707 Brooklyn Avenue N.E,

Seattle, WA 98105

(206) 543-8950



Washington Sea Grant is part of the National Sea
Grant College Program, a network repesented in
some thirty states and in Puerto Rico, Sea Grant pro-
grams are available to all, regardless of race, color,
age, religion, sex, naticnal origin, handicap, or sta-
tus as disabled or Vietnam era veteran.

This bulletin was originally compiled by
Charlotte Bodding, while serving as Program As-
sistant for Washington Sea Grant Marine Advisory
Services. It was updated by Sarah Fisken, Program
Assistant, with assistance from John B. Peters, Sea-
food Processing Specialist, Washington Sea Grant
Marine Advisory Services. Assistance was provided
by the Department of Licensing; the Department of
Fisheries, Licensing Department; the Department of
Health Shellfish Program; the Department of Agri-
culture; and the county and city health departments
of Washington.

=
Natlonal Sea Grant Depository
Pell Library Building - GSO
University of Rhode isiand
. Narragansett, Rl 02882-1197USA
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This publication is supported in part by
grant number NABIAA-D-SG(22, project A/FP.7
(Marine Advisory Services) from the National
Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration to the
Washington Sea Grant Program, Washington Sea
Grant is interested in your comments about the infor-
mation presented in this bulletin. We would
particularty like to know if this publication assisted
you in deciding whether or not to market your catch
yourself. Please drop us & note at Washington Sea
Grant, Marine Advisory Services, University of
Washington, Seattle, WA 98195, .

_ No part of this publication may be re-
produced without permission from Washington Sea
Grant,

 For information about additional copies of this pub-

lication, contact:

Washington Sea Grant
3716 Brooklyn Ave. N.E.
Seattle, WA 98105
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