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FOREWORD

This volume represents those laws that were passed during

the 1977 session of the Mississippi Legislature that would affect

the use, development and protection of the state's marine resources.

Those laws that dealt with the coastal zone area generally but had

no direct or indirect affect on the use, development or protection

of the state marine resources are excluded from this analysis.



LIVING RESOURCES

GAME AND FISH

I. Chapter 463, H.B. 1003, is an Act relating to the oyster

industry. 14ISS. CODE ANN. 5 49-15-27 �972! is amended as follows:

49-15-27�!: No individual, corporation, partnership or

association may lease less than five �! acres nor more than 100

acres, provided, however, that in the case of an individual there

shall not be counted towards such limitation any lands leased by

a corporation, partnership or association in which such individual

owns 10% or less interest and, in the case of a partnership, cor-

poration or association, there shall not be counted toward such

limitation any lands leased by an individual stockholder, partner

or associate thereof who owns 10% or less interest in such corpora-

<ion, partnership or association.

49-15-27�!: Lease renewals allowed by this subsection are

limited to 25 years unless they are rebid. In any such rebidding,

if the successful bidder is someone other than the lessee, the success-

ful bidder shall, before taking possession of the leased bottoms,

pay to the lessee the fair market value of the lessee's oysters in

place as determined by the commission. No lease may be transferred

without approval by the commission.

49-15-27�!: The $5.00 maximum ground rental is repealed. The

only limitation now is the $1.00 minimum.

The following portion is added after subsection �0!:

Any person convicted of taking oysters from leased land or from

waters that are not of a safe sanitary quality without a permit as

provided in 5 49-15-37 shall, on the first offense, forfeit all



equipment used, exclusive of any boat or boats; and be fined not

to exceed $2000 or sentenced not to exceed one �! year in the

county jail, or both. Subsequent convictions shall be punishable

by forfeiture of all equipment, including any boat or boats; and

a fine not to exceed $5000 or not to exceed two �! years in prison,

or both such fine and imprisonment.

MISS. CODE ANN. 5 49-15-29 �972! is amended as follows:

g 49-15-29 a! and  e!: The 25 cent fee which went to the

issuing officer is repealed.

49-15-29 g!: The annual license fee for wholesalers is

increased from $20 to $100.

MIss. CQDE ANN. 5 49-15-37 �972! is amended to add the follow-

ing provisions:

The commission shall have the authority to issue permits to

persons to remove oysters by dredging or otherwise from water

bottoms which are not of a safe sanitary quality for oyster produc-

tion for human consumption even though those areas may have been

reserved for tonging only in subsections  a!,  b!,  c! and  e! of

Section 49-15-39. These areas shall be designated as seed grounds,

and permits to persons shall be issued only for the purpose of trans-

planting oysters to privately leased Mississippi territorial waters;

provided, however, the commission may permit the transplanting of

these seed oysters by a duly authorized public agency.

The commission may, upon certification of the State Board of

Health that the water bottom from which the oysters are to be re-

moved is not of a safe, sanitary quality for oyster production for



human consumption and has been so unsafe for a period of one �!

year immediately preceding certification, and upon complying with

the following requirements, permit the dredging of oysters from

contaminated public areas and re-laying said cargo of oysters to

private leased grounds in the State of j'iississippi:

 a! Permittee must hold valid lease of oyster bedding grounds

in the State of 11ississippi;

 b! Permittee must be bonded in compliance with the permit

system established by the commission;

 c! Permittee must fulfill all permit requirements as es-

tablished by the commission and the State Board of Health; and

 d! Permittee shall not move oysters from one �! contaminated

area to another contaminated area;

 e! Permittee shall move oysters only to an area leased by

the effective date of this act;

 f! Permittee shall not move oysters from the contaminated

area without the presence of a conservation officer of the com-

mission at. all times; from the dredging of the oysters from the

contaminated areas to their deposit on private leased grounds.

Harvesting of oysters shall be permitted only during daylight

hours and with the most efficient gear possible consistent with con-

servation requirements of not damaging the reefs. This shall in-

clude permission to use two �! dredges per boat on contaminated

areas and on private leased grounds'

Any person obtaining a permit to remove oysters from seed

grounds shall post a penal bond of $100 per leased acre with the

commission to be forfeited upon any violation of this section,



the bond to be approved by the director of the commission if he

finds the bond to be secured by sufficient property or sureties.

The commission and the Nississippi State Board of Health

shall regulate the amount and time of taking of oysters from seed

areas and shall supervise the removal, planting and harvesting of

oysters from the areas. The time or season so set for the taking

of oysters from contaminated seed areas and the time or season so

set for the taking of oysters from private leased grounds shall be

separated by not less than a period of 15 days during which neither

activity may be allowed.

Only persons who have been residents of Mississippi for at

least five �! years shall be eligible to obtain permits for remov-

al of oysters from seed grounds.

The commission shall designate certain uncontaminated reefs in

the state as public reefs and shall remove oysters from water bottoms

which are not of a safe, sanitary qua3.ity for oyster production for

human consumption and shall transport such oysters to such public

reefs which shall be reserved for tonging only.

MISS. CODE ANN. 5 49-15-39  a, b, c and e! �972! are amended

to allow from dredging in those areas under the provisions of

MISS. CODE ANN. 5 49-15-37 �972!  above! . These areas include:

 a! The Bay of Biloxi.

 b! Waters of the Bay of St. Louis north of the Louisville and

Nashville Railroad Company's bridge.

 c! In the limits beginning at a point one �! mile from

shore in the City of Bay St. Louis at the Louisville and Nashville

Railroad Company's bridge, thence southerly following the meander-



ings of the shore along Bay St. Louis and Waveland one and one-

guarter  l-l/4! miles therefrom to the head of Waveland Avenue in

the Town of Waveland; thence westerly to the shore at the head of

Waveland Avenue.

 e! In the limits lying east of a line projected from the

west bank of the mouth of Bayou Graveline in Jackson County to

Round Island lighthouse and north of a line projected due east from

Round Island lighthouse to the Mississippi-Alabama line.

MISS. CODE ANN. $ 49-15-41 �972! is amended to provide that

the fine for violation of this section  which prohibits taking

oysters between sunset and sunrise each day! shall not exceed

$10,000 and/or up to one �! year in county jail.

II. Chapter 468, S.B. 2004, amends MISS. CODE ANN. 5 49-7-31

�972! to provide that there shall be no limit on the number of

buck deer killed in a season, except that the day limit on buck deer

with horns visible above the natural hairline shall be one �! buck

per day.

Rabbit. season shall open on the first Saturday in October

and run through the 28th of February.

The taking of any animal by the use of a trap shall be unlaw-

ful except during the time the season is open for the taking of

fur-bearing animals. However, beaver and nutria may be taken by

trap at any time.

It shall be unlawful to trap fox after the closed season for

trapping of other fur-bearing animals, except. on property owned

by the person trapping.

MISS. CODE ANN. 5 49-7~37�972! is amended to allow a person



who has a license to hunt in this state to use hawks and falcons

for that purpose. Bow seasons for deer are fixed between October 1

and October 30, November 1 and November 19, and one �! day past

the close of deer gun season through January 31.

III. Chapter 470, S-.B. 2260, amends MISS. CODE ANN 5 49-5-39

�972! to increase the penalty for hunting on a game preserve to a

fine of not less than $150 nor more than $300 and by imprisonment

in the county pail for not less than 10 days nor more than 30 days.

The penalty for subsequent violations will be a fine  $300 to $500!

and imprisonment as above, except that the sentence shall be served

and not suspended.

The fine for trespassing on any game or fish refuge in any

game and fish management area shall be not less than $100 nor more

than $250 and imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 30

da.y s ~

IV. Chapter 472, S.B. 3152, amends MISS. CODE ANN. g 49-5-87

�972! to provide that leaseholders of land in Jackson and George

County which was purchased by the state wildlife and heritage com-

mittee shall not be dispossessed of such land prior to April 15,

1978.



II MINERAL AND NON-I IVING RESOURCES

I. Chapter 476, H.B. 606, is a comprehensive surface mining

and reclamation law. The law is the product of two years' investi-

gation and drafting by legislators although the law encourages con-

trolled development by strip mining of the state's lignite and.

other hard mineral resources, it establishes rigorous standards

for reclamation. Small mining operations  four acres or less! in-

volving extraction of sand, gravel, soil, clay, sand clay, clay

gravel, limestone and chalk, are exempted from the Act's regulations.

Operators of such small mines are required to notify the Mississippi

Geological Survey of their existence, however.

All larger operations are required to obtain a permit, which

remains in force for five years. Operators must also file an annual

certificate of compliance, declaring compliance with an approved

mining and reclamation plan. The permit application procedure is

complex and requires extensive disclosure of mining plans prior to

the start of operations. Reclamation requirements are equally com-

plex and detailed, involving, for example, replacement of topsoil,

avoidance of acid drainage and replacement of vegetation. Operators

must post bond to insure proper reclamation. Generally, the land

must be returned to the "nearest approximate original contour."

Certain areas are to be designated under the law as unsuitable

for surface mining where other equally valuable resources would be

disturbed or where reclamation is judged to be impossible.

The law provides for inspections on an irregular basis by state

officials.



II. Chapter 455, S.B. 3137, exempts intrastate gas trans-

mission, sale or distribution to industrial users or public utilities

from certain requirements placed on public utilities. No person

who shall construct, acquire, extend or operate an intrastate gas

pipeline for transmitting natural, manufactured or mixed gas for

sale or resale or distribution for consumption by industrial users,

public utilities, or a public utility owned or operated by a munici-

pality, shall be deemed a public utility or be required to obtain

a gas certificate of public convenience and necessity to engage

in the foregoing activities.

III. Chapter 487, H.B. 581, amends MISS. CODE ANN. 5 53-3-13

�972! to increase the permit fee for drilling an oil well from

$100 to $200.



I I I, INDUSTRIAL AND AGRICULTURAL RESOURCES

I. Chapter 475, H.B. 193, enacts the "Foresters Registration

Act of 1977." This Act provides for the registration of foresters

with the State Board of Registration for Foresters of the State

of Mississippi. It shall be unlawful for any person to practice

in this state as a registered forester, unless such person has

been duly registered The State Board of Registration for Forest-

ers shall have the following powers and duties:

 a! To adopt rules and regulations governing the holding of

its meetings, hearings, applications for licenses and any and all

other duties provided by this act.

 b! To establish and promulgate standards of practice and a

code of ethics for registered foresters.

 c! To provide an annual roster of registered foresters.

 d! To issue, suspend and revoke licenses.

 e! To administer oaths at hearings before the board and to

issue subpoenas to obtain required information.

The following persons shall be eligible for registration as

a registered forester:

 a! Any person who shall have graduated with a bachelor' s

degree or higher from a university or college of forestry in a

curriculum of forestry acceptable by the board ~

 b! Any person who has five �! or more years experience in

forestry work of a character satisfactory to the board, and a

written examination given by the board.



 c! Any person who shall have been engaged in the practice

of forestry for at least three  .3! years.

 d! Any person who shall have satisfactorily completed one

or more years of forestry school and who has also gained work ex-

perience may substitute schooling for work experience at the ratio

of one �! year of schooling for two �! years of work experience.

Applications for registration are to be made on forms pre-

scribed by the board. The initial registration fee shall be fixed

by the board, but shall not exceed $25.00.

Any person who shall practice or offer to practice the profes-

sion of forestry in this state as a registered forester without

being registered shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon convic-

tion thereof shall be fined not more than $500 for each such

violation.
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I I I . RECREATION

E. Chapter 424, S.B. 2304, increases the amount of funds

which may be expended for buildings and improvements at various

State Parks:

 l! Buccaneer State Park, Gulf Coast Area $3,000,000.00

�! Gulf Marine State Park, Biloxi $1,000,000.00

II. Chapter 456, S.B. 3l53, amends Chapter 435, Laws of

1972, as amended by Chapter 445, Laws of l975, to increase the

maximum term allowed for franchises granted by the Mississippi

Coast Coliseum Commission. Such franchises shall not exceed five

�! years  up from 4 years! and may be extended for a period not

to exceed five �! additional years  up from 2 years!.



V ~ ENVI RONHENTAL CONTROL

I. Chapter 420, H.B. 1330, allows municipalities which

issued bonds for pollution control facilities under MISS. CODE

ANN. 55 49-17-101 through 49-17-123 to issue refunding bonds for

the purpose of paying the former obligations.




